Hear My Words: Choral Classics from St Johnís | Chandos CHSA5085

Hear My Words: Choral Classics from St Johnís


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: Chandos

Cat No: CHSA5085

Format: SACD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 1st November 2010



As exclusive Chandos artists, the Choir of St Johnís College, Cambridge here presents its second release. The first CD, of choral music by Howells, was released to rave reviews: Choir and Organ wrote: ĎThere is musicianship here of a rare and moving kind.í This new release of popular choral classics should meet with a similar reception, while at the same time appealing to a wider audience.

Established in the 1670s, the Choir of St Johnís has a distinguished tradition of performing religious music. Its main duty is singing the daily services in the College Chapel during the University Term. During the University vacation the Choir carries out engagements in the UK and overseas, as well as undertaking a busy recording schedule. This particular release was recorded in the College Chapel in full surround-sound. The disc not only sounds spectacular, but recreates to an uncanny degree the experience of listening to the Choir perform in the chapel.

The music itself represents a time span of nearly 500 years of choral music. The earliest piece dates from the first half of the sixteenth century, and the newest was composed as recently as 2007. The styles and genres are varied, but there are clear links between the works throughout. For example, several are based on texts from the psalms, and the works by Pšrt, Parsons, and Rachmaninov offer three radically different interpretations of the Ave Maria. Some of the works also add a solo instrument to the familiar mix of voices and organ. But perhaps most importantly, all the pieces recorded here sit comfortably under the heading of ĎPopular Choral Classicsí.

- Allegri: Miserere Mei, Deus
- Grieg: Ave Maris Stella
- Pšrt: Bogorůditse Djťvo
- Parsons: Ave Maria
- Rachmaninov: Bogoroditse Dyevo
- Franck: Panis Angelicus
- Palestrina: Exsultate Deo
- MacMillan: A New Song
- Tallis: Agnus Dei
- Rutter: O Lord, thou has searched me out
- Faurť: Cantique de Jean Racine
- Parry: Hear my words, ye people
- Williams: O Taste and See
- Stanford: Jubilate

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here