Frescobaldi Edition Vol.8 | Brilliant Classics 94020

Frescobaldi Edition Vol.8


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: Brilliant Classics

Cat No: 94020

Barcode: 5028421940205

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Instrumental

Release Date: 23rd August 2010



Brilliant is coming to the end of another ground-breaking series with this ninth volume of the first-ever recording of the complete works of Girolamo Frescobaldi. Only two more volumes remain - all of them, of course, involving the sparkling musicianship and scholarly zeal of the keyboard player Roberto Loreggian.

Frescobaldi was born in Ferrara in 1583, and worked for the influential and wealthy Este family. Ferrara at this time had become the centre for the modern arts and the musical avant-garde. Virtuoso singing and playing flourished, and it was into this heady atmosphere that the young Frescobaldi cut his teeth. Frescobaldi was one of the earliest composers to make keyboard music his speciality, and he was the most important composer for the keyboard prior to Domenico Scarlatti.

These Capriccios were dedicated to Alfonso D’Este, Prince of Modena. They illustrate vividly the invention, and the improvisatory skills for which the composer was renowned. They contain solemn music as well as musical humour, imitations of birds (the cuckoo in particular), and are extremely well written musical exercises for students.

1. Capriccio I sopra Ut, re, mi, fa, sol, la
2. Capriccio II sopra La, sol, fa, mi, re, ut
3. Capriccio III sopra il Cucco
4. Capriccio IV sopra La, sol, fa, re, mi
5. Capriccio V sopra la Bassa Fiamenga
6. Capriccio VI sopra la Spagnoletta
7. Capriccio VII sopra l’aria ‘Or che noi rimena’ in partite
8. Capriccio VIII cromatico con ligature al contrario
9. Capriccio IX di durezze
10. Capriccio X sopra un soggetto
11. Capriccio XI con obligo di cantar la quinta parte
12. Capriccio XII sopra l’aria di Ruggiero

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here