Trio Mediaeval: Folk Songs  | ECM New Series 4766179

Trio Mediaeval: Folk Songs


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM New Series

Cat No: 4766179

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 22nd October 2007



Trio Mediaeval
Birger Mistereggen (percussion)


Trio Mediaeval
Birger Mistereggen (percussion)


Norway’s varied folk music heritage has inspired musicians from different backgrounds. Since their start in 1997 the Norwegian-Swedish vocal trio, Trio Mediaeval, has successfully included Norwegian folksongs in their concerts which usually consist of mediaeval and contemporary polyphony. The pieces recorded in the generous acoustics of the Austrian monastery, St Gerold, stem from regions such as Vestfold or Telemark and many of these humorous ballads, hymns, psalms, love songs and lullabies are popular tunes which have been sung by the great folksingers of the country.

The Trio’s new record pays tribute to the (now disbanded) all-female Norwegian folk trio Tiriltunga but most of the arrangements were made by Linn Andrea Fugleseth and Tone Krohn, a folksinger from Linn’s hometown Sanderfjord in Vestfold.  The trio’s decision to include some percussion not only widens the sonic spectrum of the group but also adds a powerful rhythmic element. For the trio, this project offers the opportunity to sing an entire programme without scores in complete freedom and spontaneity – resulting in singing of warmth, charm and youthful vitality.    

Founded in Oslo in 1997, the Norwegian-Swedish trio, two sopranos and a mezzo, were taken up the following year as protégés of the Hilliard Ensemble. Hilliard tenor John Potter was especially excited by their potential and brought the group to ECM, acting as producer or co-producer on all their discs. Norwegian drummer and percussionist Birger Mistereggen trained as a classical and jazz musician and is one of Norway’s foremost specialists in ‘folk’ percussion. 

Trio Mediaeval -  Anna Maria Friman, Linn Andrea Fuglseth, Torunn Østrem Ossum

1. The Little Child 
2. Rest Now, Sweet Child   
3. Villemann And Magnhild   
4. The Thieves
5. The Sun Is Setting
6. In My Reckless, Youthful Days
7. Gjendine's Lullaby
8. Wedding March From Gudbrandsdalen
9. The Song Of Roland
10. Sun-prayer
11. I Know a Stronghold In Heaven  
12. All the Earth Now Rests In Peace
13. Dance From Vestfold 
14. I Don't Think Much Of Those Boys
15. Beloved Jerusalem   
16. Till, Till Tove
17. Lova Line
18. Dance, Do Not Cry Now   
19. The Day Of Joy
20. Saviour Of the Nations, Come

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here