Jon Balke - Book of Velocities | ECM 1732765

Jon Balke - Book of Velocities


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM

Cat No: 1732765

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Jazz



Jon Balke (piano)


Balke, Jon

Book of Velocities


Jon Balke (piano)


Norwegian pianist Jon Balke’s first-ever solo disc is a remarkable ‘book’ of 19 short pieces, grouped into four chapters and an epilogue, of music composed and improvised, exploring a whole vocabulary of ideas, techniques, rhythms, textures and sound-colours. Resembling no other disc in the solo piano genre, this is another strikingly original release from the instigator of the Magnetic North Orchestra and Batagraf.

Chapter I
1. Giada
2. Scintilla
3. Spread
4. Castello
5. Resilience
Chapter II
6. Single Line
7. Nyl
8. Double Line
Chapter III
9. Obsidian
10. Sunday Shapes
11.  Gum Bounce
12. Finger Bass
13. Contrivance
Chapter IV
14. Drape Hanger
15. Septima Llegada
16. Reel Set
17. Scrim Stand
18. Sonance
19. Nefriit

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here