Exilio: Sephardic Songs, Spanish Renaissance & original compositions | Pavane ADW7578

Exilio: Sephardic Songs, Spanish Renaissance & original compositions


Usually available for despatch within 3-5 working days

Label: Pavane

Cat No: ADW7578

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 23rd September 2016



La Roza Enflorese
Quator Alfama


La Roza Enflorese
Quator Alfama


On 31 March 1492, the Catholic monarchs expelled the Jews from Castile and Aragon. Between 70,000 and 170,000 people fled Iberian soil into permanent exile. The programme presented on this disc bears witness not only to the exile of a people, but also to the emotional exile so beautifully exemplified in mediaeval courtly lyrics. Yearning for the homeland, the wanderings of a heart in despair, the rejection of a world of appearances… all these forms of exile inspired this repertoire.

In order to follow in the footsteps of this diaspora, so conducive to cultural encounters, La Roza Enflorese has collaborated with the Alfama String Quartet, performing a Judaeo-Spanish repertoire supplemented by Spanish Renaissance polyphony and original compositions by Philippe Malfeyt setting poems by Pablo Neruda.

The wedding between historical or traditional instruments and modern ones has created a modern universe infused with ancient and folk sonorities rich in nostalgia.

1. Ir me keria yo por este caminiko (Sephardic)
2. Las vidas (Philippe Malfeyt)
3. Arvoles yoran por yuvias (Sephardic)
4. Tramontana (Philippe Malfeyt)
5. Mi muerte contra la vida (anon, 16th century)
6. Exilio (Philippe Malfeyt)
7. De las altas mares (Sephardic)
8. Hermitaño quiero ser (Juan del Enzina)
9. Mariagneta (Catalan)
10. Puntcha, puntcha la roza (Sephardic)
11. Kamini por alta torres (Sephardic)
12. Fuga Fez (Philippe Malfeyt)
13. Adiyo kerida (Sephardic)
14. Indome para Marsilia (Sephardic)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here