Vrebalov - The Sea Ranch Songs (CD + DVD) | Cantaloupe CA21122

Vrebalov - The Sea Ranch Songs (CD + DVD)


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Cantaloupe

Cat No: CA21122

Format: CD + DVD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Chamber

Release Date: 14th October 2016



Kronos Quartet


Vrebalov, Aleksandra

The Sea Ranch Songs


Kronos Quartet


Commissioned for the Kronos Quartet by the community of The Sea Ranch in celebration of the famed California seaside retreat’s 50th birthday, composer Aleksandra Vrebalov’s The Sea Ranch Songs connects with the spirit, nature, and architecture of this magical place — a grand experiment in environmental stewardship, land development and intentional community planning.

Featuring rare documented sounds from the Northern California coastal community and its wild surroundings, this sumptuous multimedia work is paired with a dreamlike cinematic exploration on bonus DVD by videographer Andrew Lyndon. Meditative, majestic and inspirational, The Sea Ranch Songs delves into the stunning panoramas and metaphysical geography of a unique place where people and nature are harmoniously intertwined.

“The Sea Ranch idea on a global scale might be utopian,” Vrebalov writes in her liner notes, “but through music, we praise its beauty and affirm its urgent relevance in our wounded world, so much in need of healing.”

Kronos Quartet:
- David Harrington (violin)
- John Sherba (violin)
- Hank Dutt (viola)
- Sunny Yang (cello)

CD track list:
1. Spirit I
2. Fort Ross Chorale
3. Gratitude
4. Numbers
5. Ideas: Condominium One
6. Creatures
7. Chapel, Rainbows
8. Elements I
9. Starry Night
10. Ideas: Barn Fugue
11. Spirit II
12. Elements II
13. Gratitude, Coda

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here