DJ Spooky - Rebirth of a Nation | Cantaloupe CA21110

DJ Spooky - Rebirth of a Nation


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Cantaloupe

Cat No: CA21110

Format: CD + DVD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Soundtrack

Release Date: 28th August 2015



DJ Spooky
Kronos Quartet


Miller, Paul D (DJ Spooky)

Rebirth of a Nation


DJ Spooky
Kronos Quartet


Paul D Miller is probably most well-known under his 'onstructed persona' as DJ Spooky That Subliminal Kid. He has recorded a huge volume of music and collaborated with a wide variety of musicians and composers, among them Iannis Xenakis, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Kronos Quartet, Pierre Boulez, Steve Reich, Yoko Ono, Thurston Moore and many others. He also composed and recorded the score for the Cannes and Sundance Award-winning film 'Slam', starring acclaimed poet Saul Williams, and produced material on Yoko Ono’s recent album 'Yes, I’m a Witch'.

Conceived as a reimagining of director D W Griffith’s infamously racist 1915 silent film 'The Birth of a Nation', 'Rebirth of a Nati'on, recorded with Kronos Quartet, is a controversial and culturally significant project that examines how “…exploitation and political corruption still haunt the world to this day, but in radically different forms”.

Originally commissioned in 2004 by the Lincoln Center Festival, Spoleto Festival USA, Weiner Festwochen, and the Festival d’Automne a Paris, the project was Miller’s first large-scale multimedia performance piece, and has been performed around the world, from the Sydney Festival to the Herod Atticus Amphitheater, more than fifty times.

In an era where whistleblowers like Julian Assange and Edward Snowden have shown us that perspective can truly alter global events,” Miller says, “we need more than ever to see the context that early cinema offers us. As my old friend Saul Williams likes to say: Another World Is Possible. A remix of a film as deeply important and problematic as 'The Birth of a Nation' reminds us that many of these issues still linger with us at every level.

The original DVD version of 'Rebirth of a Nation' was released by Anchor Bay Films/Starz Media in 2008. Cantaloupe Music’s package will include a new print of the film, and marks the first time that the project’s entire recorded score will be made available on CD.

Track Listing:
1. The Broken Compass (Intro Theme)
2. A Nation Divided
3. North Isn’t South
4. The Most Dangerous Woman in America
5. Stoneman
6. Cameron
7. The Parallax Waltz
8. Gettysburg Requiem
9. What Would Moses Say?
10. Lincoln and Booth Get Acquainted
11. Dixie As Anti-Utopia
12. Blackface (We Are All Sharecroppers Now)
13. Getting Biblical
14. The Election and Results: The New Montage
15. Gus, Elsie, Silas and The Klan
16. Black Militia
17. Ride of The Klansmen
18. The Next Election
19. Ghost of a Smile

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here