What Artemisia Heard | Sono Luminus DSL92195

What Artemisia Heard


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Sono Luminus

Cat No: DSL92195

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Release Date: 25th September 2015



Music and Art from the Time of Caravaggio and Gentileschi is the profoundly engaging culmination of a unique project envisioned by El Mundo artistic director Richard Savino.

Enraptured over the work of female Baroque painter Artemisia Gentileschi, Savino, a baroque guitarist and lutenist, began to question why the music of Artemisia’s time is not as widely appreciated as the visual arts of the era. Recognizing a ubiquitous connection in popular music between the aural and visual (through vehicles such as music videos), Savino had the ingenious idea to integrate the sublime painting of Artemisia and her contemporaries directly with the equally sublime music these painters would have heard at the time.

Featured alongside paintings by Artemisia and her contemporaries is music by composers Uccellini, Kapsberger, Ferrari, Frescobaldi, Mazzocchi, Gagliano, Caccini, Piccinini, Castello, Monteverdi, Corbetta, Falconieri, Rossi, Giramo and Lanier, as performed stunningly by El Mundo and distinguished soloists.

El Mundo is a chamber group dedicated to the performance of sixteenth through nineteenth century Latin American, Spanish and Italian chamber music. Under the direction of guitarist/lutenist Richard Savino, El Mundo was formed in 1999 and is made up of some of today’s finest period instrument performers.

Track Listing:
1) La Gran Battaglia - Marco Uccellini

Prima Roma: 1593-1614
2) L’onda che limpida 'Suite' - Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger
3) Corrente Sesta - Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger
4) Capona - Giovanni Girolamo Kapsberger
5) Amanti - Benedetto Ferrari
6) Canzona - Girolamo Frescobaldi
7) Folle Cor - Domenico Mazzocchi

Seconda Parte: Firenze 1614-1620
8) Sinfonia - Marco Gagliano
9) Lasciatemi qui solo - Francesca Caccini
10) Toccata - Alessandro Piccinini
11) Chi desia di saper - Francesca Caccini

Terza Parte: Venezia 1620-1630
12) Sonata Prima - Dario Castello
13) Et è pur dunque vero - Claudio Monteverdi
14) Come dolce hoggi l’auretta- Claudio Monteverdi
15) Sinfonia a due - Francesco Corbetta

Quarto Parte: Napoli 1630-1638
16) Sinfonia detta la buon’hora - Andrea Falconieri
17) Occhi belli - Luigi Rossi
18) Folia echa para mi Señora Doña Tarolilla di Carallenos - Andrea Falconieri
19) Festa Riso - Pietro Giramo

Quinto Parte: Londra 1638-1642
20) Symphonia in G - Nicholas Lanier
21) No More Shall Meads be Deck’d with Flow’rs - Nicholas Lanier
22) Thou I Am Young - Nicholas Lanier

23) Fan battaglia - Luigi Rossi

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here