For Love is Lord of All | Saydisc SDL439

For Love is Lord of All


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Saydisc

Cat No: SDL439

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 4th September 2015



Gef Lucena (vocals, bouzouki, mandolin, autoharp, recorder, flageolet)


Gef Lucena (vocals, bouzouki, mandolin, autoharp, recorder, flageolet)


As part of Saydisc’s 50th Anniversary celebration releases, Gef Lucena sings songs of true love, false love, supernatural love, deceitful love and vengeful love from British and other traditions.

Gef is the founder of Saydisc and has been a performer of traditional music since the early 1960s. However, amazingly this is his first solo album and he accompanies himself on bouzouki, mandolin, autoharp, recorder and flageolet.

In addition to traditional British songs, Gef showcases three of his own settings of poetry by Edward Thomas and A E Houseman and has adapted a couple of well-known Schubert songs. Songs in Italian, Ladino and Hebrew are also included, as well as settings by Butterworth and Finzi.

Track Listing:
CD 1

1. Catch Me If You Can
2. False Truelove
3. La Rose Enflorece
4. The Lea Rig
5. As the Clouds That Are So Light
6. Scarborough Fair
7. Caro Mio Ben
8. 1846 medley
9. The Bonnie Irish Maid
10. The True Lover
11. Wind That Shakes the Barley
12. Come Away Death
13. Lass Of Glenshee
14. The Tryst
15. Ramblin' Gambler
16. Phantom Suns (Die Nebensonnen)
17. Unquiet Grave
18. And You Helen

CD 2
1. My Lagan Love
2. My Dearest Dear
3. El Ginat Egoz
4. Night Visiting Song
5. Willie's Fatal Visit
6. Now O Now I Needs Must Part
7. Brigg Fair
8. Turtle Dove
9. Nancy's Fancy medley
10. I Courted A Young Girl
11. First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
12. Annan Waters
13. Lover's Ghost
14. By The Sea (Am Meer)
15. Bonnie May
16. Is My Team Ploughing
17. Just As the Tide Was Flowing
18. The Streams Of Lovely Nancy

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here