Andrea Gabrieli - Complete Keyboard Music | Brilliant Classics 94432

Andrea Gabrieli - Complete Keyboard Music

£17.06 £14.50

save £2.56 (15%)

special offer ending 01/01/2020

Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Brilliant Classics

Cat No: 94432

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 6

Genre: Instrumental

Release Date: 14th August 2015



Roberto Loreggian (organ, harpsichord)


Roberto Loreggian (organ, harpsichord)


The first complete recording of the keyboard works of Andrea Gabrieli (1532-1585), one of the most famous and influential composers of the late Renaissance and the most important representative of the Venetian School. A native of Venice, he went to Germany to study with Lassus. Later he became organist of the famous San Marco in Venice, the most important post in Northern Italy at that moment.

Gabrieli was one of the first composers to write purely instrumental music. His works for keyboard (organ, cembalo) consist of Ricercars, a monothematic form which is the forerunner of the Fugue, brilliant and virtuoso Preludes and Toccatas, and lavishly ornamented arrangements of madrigals and other vocal works.

Italian Roberto Loreggian is one of the foremost keyboardists of this time. His extensive discography includes the complete keyboard works of Frescobaldi. He plays the wonderful, recently restored historic organ of the Duomo of Valvasone.

Track Listing:
CD 1

1. Libro primo: Intonazione del primo tono
2. Libro primo: Intonazione del secondo tono
3. Libro primo: Intonazione del terzo tono
4. Libro primo: Intonazione del quarto tono
5. Libro primo: Intonazione del quinto tono
6. Libro primo: Intonazione del sesto tono
7. Libro primo: Intonazione del settimo tono
8. Libro primo: Intonazione dell’ottavo tono
9. Libro primo: Toccata del quinto tono
10. Libro primo: Toccata del sesto tono (I)
11. Libro primo: Toccata dell’ottavo tono
12. Libro primo: Toccata del nono tono
13. Libro primo: Toccata del sesto tono (II)
14. Libro primo: Toccata del decimo tono
15. Libro primo: Praembulum quarti toni
16. Libro primo: Praembulum primi toni
17. Libro primo: Praembulum tertii toni
18. Libro primo: Toccata primi toni
19. Libro primo: Missa Dominicalis. I. Introito – Kyrie alternatim
20. Libro primo: Missa Dominicalis. II. Gloria alternatim

CD 2
1. Libro secondo: Ricercar del primo tono
2. Libro secondo: Ricercar del primo tono alla quarta alta
3. Libro secondo: Ricercar del secondo tono alla quarta alta
4. Libro secondo: Ricercar del terzo tono
5. Libro secondo: Ricercar del quarto tono
6. Libro secondo: Ricercar del quinto tono
7. Libro secondo: Ricercar del sesto tono
8. Libro secondo: Ricercar del settimo tono
9. Libro secondo: Ricercar del nono tono
10. Libro secondo: Ricercar dell’undecimo tono
11. Libro secondo: Ricercar del duodecimo tono
12. Libro secondo: Missa dominicalis: Credo alternatim

CD 3
1. Libro terzo: Ricercar del primo tono (2)
2. Libro terzo: Ricercar del secondo tono
3. Libro terzo: Ricercar del quinto tono (2)
4. Libro terzo: Ricercar del quinto tono (3)
5. Libro terzo: Ricercar del nono tono (I)
6. Libro terzo: Ricercar del nono tono (II)
7. Libro terzo: Cantate domino
8. Libro terzo: Fantasia allegra
9. Libro terzo: Canzon ariosa
10. Libro terzo: Ancor che col partire
11. Libro terzo: Io mi son giovinetta
12. Libro terzo: Pass’e mezzo antico
13. Libro terzo: Canzon primo tono
14. Libro terzo: Toccata sexti toni

CD 4
1. Missa de Beata Virgine: I. Kyrie eleison alternatim
2. Missa de Beata Virgine: II. Gloria alternatim
3. Missa de Beata Virgine: III. Sanctus alternatim
4. Missa de Beata Virgine: IV. Agnus dei alternatim
5. Missa apostolorum: I. Kyrie eleison alternatim
6. Missa apostolorum: II. Gloria alternatim
7. Missa apostolorum: III. Credo alternatim
8. Missa apostolorum: IV. Sanctus alternatim

CD 5
1. Susanne un jour (on a 5-part canzon by Di Lasso)
2. Frais et gaillard (on a 4-part chanson by Clemens non Papa)
3. Martin menoit (on a 4-part chanson by Janequin)
4. Ricercar sopra Martin menoit
5. Orsus au coup (on a 4-part chanson by Crecquillon)
6. Ricercar sopra Orsus au coup
7. Pour ung plaisir (on a 4-part chanson by Crecquillon)
8. Ricercar sopra pour ung Plaisir
9. Ricercar arioso I
10. Ricercar arioso II
11. Ricercar arioso III
12. Ricercar arioso IV
13. Missa Dominicalis: I. Sanctus alternatim
14. Missa Dominicalis: II. Agnus dei alternatim

CD 6
1. Qui la dira
2. O belli e vaghi pizza
3. Ung gay bergier (on a 4-part chanson by Crecquillon)
4. Pastori fuor fuori a sì bel canto
5. Petit Jacquet
6. Asia felice
7. Je prens en gré (on a 4-part canzon by Clemens non Papa)
8. Canto, canto! Fest
9. Le bergier
10. Febo noi cantiamo
11. Orsus
12. Gratie che ’l mio signor largo destina
13. Qui la dira
14. Madrigal (for three voices)
15. Je ne diray mot bergiere
16. Con lei foss’io
17.Ricercar sopra con lei foss’io

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here