Shroud for a Nightingale: The TV Drama Music of Richard Harvey | Altus Records ALU0007

Shroud for a Nightingale: The TV Drama Music of Richard Harvey


Currently out of stock at the UK suppliers. Available to order, but is likely to take longer than usual to despatch

Label: Altus Records

Cat No: ALU0007

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Release Date: 5th May 2015


Given the inexhaustible popularity of P D James’ Commander Dalgliesh detective stories, it’s probably true that Richard Harvey’s wistful, elegiac 'Shroud for a Nightingale' theme is currently the world’s best known piece of viola music.

Not all the pieces in this collection are titles music. Where the underscore to a scene or a particularly successful featured sequence would fit in better, that is what has been picked out here. The selections chosen from television series where Richard has collaborated with other composers still feature music that is entirely (or almost entirely) Richard’s own work.

It should be pointed out, too, that there are other fine recording that could not be featured here because of contractual or ownership complications. If a particular piece of Richard Harvey television music you like is not included, that is probably the explanation.

Track Listing:
1. Shroud for a Nightingale
2. To Each His Own
3. Melissa
4. Goodbye Codes
5. A Sort of Innocence
6. A Small Dance
7. A Change of Heart
8. Jake’s Story
9. From A Cold Land
10. The Wimbledon Poisoner
11. Game, Set and Match
12. A Different Story
13. The Cloisters of San Jacinto
14. The Forbidden City
15. Death and Renewal
16. A Dance to the Music of Time
17. Hostages
18. Endings

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here