The Year Before Yesterday | Sono Luminus DSL92180

The Year Before Yesterday


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Sono Luminus

Cat No: DSL92180

Format: CD + Blu-ray Audio

Number of Discs: 2

Release Date: 2nd February 2015



The Los Angeles Percussion Quartet is back, with 'The Year Before Yesterday', the follow up to their critically acclaimed and Multi-Grammy Nominated album 'Rūpa-Khandha' (DSL92150), which received wide-spread praise for both the performance and audio presentation.

This time the ensemble has teamed up with a new set of composers to expand the sonic landscape incorporating everything from traditional percussion instruments to found and created items (and even some triggered electronics). This album displays not only a vast array of sonic colours, but also expresses a vast range of emotional depth, moods, characters and compositional styles that are only rivalled in variety by the wide dynamic range of the instruments themselves.

'The Year Before Yesterday' is truly a treat for both the music lovers and audiophiles alike.

Since 2009, the Los Angeles Percussion Quartet, or LAPQ, has forged a distinct identity as a world-class contemporary chamber music ensemble who is dedicated to commissioning and presenting new works for percussion quartets. Originally, members Nick Terry, Matt Cook, Justin DeHart, and Cory Hills joined together to create a classical percussion ensemble that would champion the important contributions of 20th century West Coast composers while collaborating with local artists to continue the tradition of innovation and exploration.

Today, the group continues their mission while broadening creative output through recordings, performances, and educational outreach.

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here