Wood Works: The Danish String Quartet plays Nordic folk music | Dacapo 8226081

Wood Works: The Danish String Quartet plays Nordic folk music


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Dacapo

Cat No: 8226081

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Chamber

Release Date: 1st September 2014



Danish String Quartet


Danish String Quartet


The Danish String Quartet’s love of traditional Scandinavian folk music is becoming as well known as the quartet’s masterly approach to the classical repertoire. Now the renowned ensemble, at present house quartet at both New York's Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society and BBC Radio 3, is releasing the album 'Wood Works', presenting their favourite melodies from Nordic folk music – including the 400 years old bridal music from the island of Fanø that has spread far and wide as a video with over 50,000 plays on YouTube and Vimeo.

Track Listing:
1. Ye Honest Bridal Couple / Sønderho Bridal Trilogy Part I (Faroe Islands - Denmark)
2. Sekstur from Vendsyssel / The Peat Dance (Denmark)
3. Vigstamoin (Norway)
4. Waltz after Lasse in Lyby (Sweden)
5. Ribers #8 (Denmark)
6. Sønderho Bridal Trilogy Part II (Denmark)
7. Five Sheep, Four Goats (Denmark)
8. O Fredrik, O Fredrik (Norway)
9. Ack Värmeland, du sköna (Sweden)
10. Easter Sunday / Polsk after Rasmus Storm (Denmark)
11. Jässpodspolska (Sweden)
12. Old Reinlender from Sønndala (Norway)
13. Sønderho Bridal Trilogy Part III (Denmark)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here