Holborne - The Fruit of Love | Ricercar RIC339

Holborne - The Fruit of Love


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Ricercar

Cat No: RIC339

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Release Date: 31st March 2014



Anthony Holborne published an important collection of works in five parts for viola da gamba and other instruments in 1599 - this was the first publication of instrumental dances in England.

A skilled lute player himself, he was also known for his mastery of the bandora and the cittern. The dances are mostly pavanes, galliards and allemandes, although they are all linked by titles that either suggest a particular musical character or that are deliberately more enigmatic.

We present here the first recording by François Joubert-Caillet with his Achéron ensemble. The ensemble’s viol players have here made a point of using copies of English violas da gamba from the beginning of the 17th century, for the extra length of the strings on these instruments gives them a truly remarkable depth and weight of sound. A few of these viols were made especially for this project.

Accompanied by lutes, cittern, pandora, virginal and ottavino (a small spinet sounding an octave higher than notated), this highly individual consort of viols gives a new and exceptional timbre to the works recorded.

Track Listing:
1. The Fruit of Love
2. Galliard
3. Bona Speranza
4. Galliard
5. The Night Watch
6. Last Will and Testament
7. Hermoza
8. Muy Linda
9. Infernum
10. Galliard
11. Pavana Ploravit
12. Ecce quam Bonum
13. The Choice
14. The Teares of the Muses
15. The Funeralls
16. Almaine
17. Pavan
18. Galliard
19. Paradizo
20. The Honey-Suckle
21. The Fairie-Round
22. The Image of Melancholly

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here