An Irish Songbook | Signum SIGCD239

An Irish Songbook


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: Signum

Cat No: SIGCD239

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 28th February 2011



Iain Burnside and Ailish Tynan return to Signum with their second disc of Irish Songs and arrangements: this time by a range of different 20th Century composers.

Although all of the sung texts stem from Ireland's rich heritage of literature (including poems from W B Yeats, Thomas Moore and James Joyce), the composers featured have a more transatlantic feel, with works by John Cage and Samuel Barber programmed alongside others by Benjamin Britten and Herbert Hughes.

- Dunhill: The Cloths of Heaven
- Barber: Solitary Hotel, The Desire for Hermitage, St Itaís Vision;
- Bridge: Lean out of the Window (Goldenhair);
- Pemdleton: Bid adieu
- Moeran (arr.): The Roving Dingle Boy, The Tinkerís Daughter, The Lost Lover
- Bax: To Eire;
- Britten: The Last Rose of Summer, Avenging and Bright, The Minstrel Boy, Sail on, sail on, At the mid hour of night, The Salley Gardens
- Howells: Flood
- Orr: Bahnhofstrasse
- Cage: The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs
- Hughes (arr.): Marry Me Now, Oh Men from the Fields
- Harty: The Strangerís Grave

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here