Melos Ensemble: Music among Friends (Complete EMI Recordings) | Warner - Icon 9185142

Melos Ensemble: Music among Friends (Complete EMI Recordings)

Label: Warner - Icon

Cat No: 9185142

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 11

Genre: Chamber

Release Date: 21st February 2011



Melos Ensemble


Melos Ensemble


The Melos Ensemble was formed by musicians who wanted to play chamber music scored for a larger ensemble in a combination of strings, winds and other instruments with the quality of musical rapport only regular groups can achieve.

All its members were excellent musicians who held positions in notable orchestras and appeared as soloists. The clarinettist Gervase de Peyer, flautist Richard Adeney, viola player Cecil Aronowitz and cellist Terence Weil were the founding members.

Planned as a group of twelve players (string quintet, wind quintet with piano and harp), this could be expanded by other players to perform an enormous range of works from Mozart through the classics and romantics of Beethoven, Schubert, Mendelssohn, Schumann and Brahms to Bartók, Janácek, Nielsen, Poulenc and Khatchaturian. They also gave first performances and then recorded works by four (then young) British composers: Richard Rodney Bennett, Harrison Birtwistle, Gordon Crosse and Peter Maxwell Davies.

The principal musicians who joined the initial four were the violinists Emanuel Hurwitz and Ivor McMahon, double bass player Adrian Beers, oboist Peter Graeme, horn player Neil Sanders, bassoonist William Waterhouse, pianist Lamar Crowson and harpist Osian Ellis.

Many of the recordings are classics of the Gramophone and have been rarely out of the catalogue. Here is a set bringing together all their recordings made during those fifteen halcyon years of glorious music-making.

CD 1
- Clarinet Quintet in A, K.581
- Piano Quintet in A, D.667 'The Trout'
- Adagio & Rondo concertante in F, D.487
CD 2
- Quintet in E Flat for Piano & Wind, K.452
- Quintet in E Flat for Piano & Wind, Op.16
- Sextet in E Flat Major, Op.81b
- March for Sextet in B Flat Major (1810), WoO 29
- Rondino in E Flat Major, WoO 25
CD 3
- Septet in E Flat, Op.20
- Octet in E Flat, Op.20
CD 4
- Octet in E Flat, Op.103
- Octet in F, D.803
CD 5
- Duo No.1 for C for Clarinet & Bassoon, WoO 27
- Fantasiestück, Op.73
- Märchenerzählungen, Op.132
- Clarinet Quintet in B Minor, Op.115
- Vivace from Clarinet Quintet in A
CD 6
- Grand Septet in B Flat Major
- Double Quartet in D Minor, Op.65
- Clarinet Quintet in B Flat Major, Op.34
CD 7
- Wind Quintet in A Major, Op.43
- Mládí (Youth)
- In the Mists
- Concertino
CD 8
- Introduction and Allegro for Flute, Clarinet, Harp & String Quartet
- Trio for Oboe, Bassoon & Piano
- Sonata for Clarinet & Bassoon
- Divertissement for Oboe, Clarinet & Bassoon
- Divertissement for Bassoon & String Quintet
- Suite for Violin, Clarinet & Piano
CD 9
- Contrasts for Violin, Clarinet & Piano
- Octet
- Eight Variations on a Greek Folk Tune
- Trio for Clarinet, Violin & Piano
- Overture on Hebrew Themes, Op.34
CD 10
- Trio for Clarinet, Viola & Piano in E Flat, K.498 'Kegelstatt'
- Adagio-Allegro from Octet, Op.32
- I. Committee meeting: Moderato
- V. In the Tube at Oxford Circus: Allegro energico

- Quintet for Oboe & Strings
- Quintet for Clarinet and Strings
CD 11
- Calendar
- Concerto Da Camera for Solo Violin, Wind & Percussion
- Tragoedia
- Episodion
- Strophe I
- Anapaest I
- Antistrophe I
- Stasimon
- Strophe II
- Anapaest II
- Antistrophe II
- Exodos

- Leopardi Fragments: Cantata for soprano, contralto and instrumental ensemble

This product has now been deleted. Information is for reference only.

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here