Butterworth - Songs | Naxos - English Song Series 8572426

Butterworth - Songs

£7.65 £6.12

save £1.53 (20%)

special offer ending 14/01/2021

Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Naxos - English Song Series

Cat No: 8572426

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 28th June 2010



One of Englandís most distinctive composers, George Butterworth belonged to the generation of young men decimated in the Great War of 1914-1918.

His sensitive and melancholic settings of poems from A E Housmanís A Shropshire Lad, with their subject matter of the futility and arbitrariness of war, are small-scale masterpieces. Of particular note are the ĎLoveliest of Treesí, describing the passing of the seasons, and the ghostly and elegiac ĎIs my team ploughing

The Folk Songs from Sussex and settings of poems by R L Stevenson, Shelley and Wilde, whose subject matter revolves around flirtation, love, courtship, marriage and desertion, are no less notable for their attention to detail, linguistic nuance and delicate, economical piano writing.

Songs from A Shropshire Lad:
- Loveliest of trees
- When I was one-and-twenty
- Look not in my eyes
- Think no more, lad
- The lads in their hundreds
- Is my team ploughing?
- Bredon Hill
- O fair enough are sky and plain
- When the lad for the longing sighs
- On the idle hill of summer
- With rue my heart is laden
- I will make you brooches
- I fear  thy kisses; Requiescat

Folk Songs from Sussex:
- A brisk young sailor courted me
- Seventeen come Sunday
- Roving in the dew
- The true loverís farewell
- Tarry trousers
- Folk Songs from Sussex:
- Yonder stands a lovely creature
- A blacksmith courted me
- Sowing the seeds of love
- A lawyer he went out one day
- Come my own one
- The cuckoo

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here