Komitas - Songs arr. V Sargsyan for Piano | Grand Piano GP895

Komitas - Songs arr. V Sargsyan for Piano


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: Grand Piano

Cat No: GP895

Barcode: 0747313989522

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Instrumental

Release Date: 11th February 2022



Yulia Ayrapetyan (piano)


Yulia Ayrapetyan (piano)


Komitas was a priest, a musician and a pioneer of ethnomusicology, considered to be the founder of the Armenian national school of music. A significant part of his life was taken up with travel to remote villages, collecting thousands of traditional songs. These range from simple melodies and poetic sketches of Armenian landscapes, to dramatic lyrics expressing mournful tragedy. Komitas was enthralled by the way ‘a peasant learns this art in nature’s embrace, with nature as his infallible school.’ Heard here in world-première recordings, these idiomatic arrangements by Villy Sargsyan importantly preserve the composer’s modal-intonational system.

Yulia Ayrapetyan is a US-based pianist, producer and pedagogue. Born in 1988 in Bryansk, Russia, she studied in Moscow and continues to uphold the performing traditions of the Russian piano school. Her repertoire ranges from the Baroque to the contemporary and includes rarely performed works by Armenian composers. She performed in the US, Chinese, Europe, Russian and Armenian premieres of forgotten Armenian piano music and actively supports and participates in her husband Mikael’s ‘Secrets of Armenia’ project through performances and recordings.

1. Chinar es, keṙanal mi (‘You Are Tall Like a Plane Tree, Do Not Bow Down’) (1905–06)
2. Kuzhn aṙa (‘I Took A Jug’) (1907–10)
3. Akh, Maral djan (‘Ah, Dear Maral’) (1899)
4. Antuni (‘Song of the Homeless’) (1905–06)
5. Shogher djan (‘Dear Shogher’) (1906–07)
6. Kak’avi erg (‘Song of the Partridge’) (1908)
7. Kanche, kṙunk (‘Crane, Sing!’) (1908–11)
8. Es saren kugayi (‘I Returned from the Mountain’) (1908–11)
9. Erkink’n ampel ē (‘The Sky is Cloudy’) (1905–06)
10. Dsirani dsaṙ (‘Apricot Tree’) (1902–06)
11. Garun a (‘It is Spring’) (1905–06)
12. Hov arek’ (‘Send a Breeze, Dear Mountains’) (1905–06)
13. K’ele, k’ele (‘March, March’) (1908–11)
14. Hoy, Nazan (‘Oh, Nazan’) (1908–11)
15. Dsedseṙnak (‘The Swallow’) (1898)
16. Le, le yaman (‘Love Song’) (1908–11)
17. Kṙunk (‘The Crane’) (1911)
18. Mani asem (‘I Will Tell Fortunes’) (1905)
19. Dsaghik asem (‘I Will Tell Flowers’) (1905)
20. Matnik’e matovs chēr (‘The Ring was not My Size’) (1901)
21. Al dzin naln inch kane (‘What Good is a Horseshoe?’) (1905)
22. Alagyaz (sarn ampel a) (‘Alagyaz is Covered with Clouds’) (third setting) (1910–11)
23. Khnki dsaṙ (‘Incense Tree’) (1908–11)
24. Chem kṙna khagha (‘I cannot Dance’) (1907–08)
25. Maron a kayne (‘There Stands Maro’) (1905)
26. Orôr (‘Lullaby’) (1905)
27. Ampel a kamar-kamar (‘The Clouds Formed Arches’) (1911)
28. Lorik (‘The Quail’) (1899)
29. Habrban (1905–06)
30. Alagyaz (bardzr sarin) (‘On High Mount Alagyaz’) (1908–11)
31. Garun (‘Spring’) (1907)
32. K’eler, tsoler (‘He Walked Radiant’) (1902–06)
33. Zulo (1899)
34. Zinch u zinch (‘What, oh What’) (1908–11)
35. Al aylukhs (‘My Scarlet Kerchief’) (1908–11)

All songs arranged for piano by Villy Sargsyan

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here