Areni Agbabian: Bloom | ECM 6752590

Areni Agbabian: Bloom


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM

Cat No: 6752590

Barcode: 0602567525905

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Release Date: 26th April 2019



Areni Agbabian (voice, piano)
Nicolas Stocker (percussion)


Areni Agbabian (voice, piano)
Nicolas Stocker (percussion)


Improvising vocalist, folk singer, storyteller, pianist: on her ECM recording debut Areni Agbabian focuses the range of her skills in music that casts a quiet spell.

A sparse music in which voice, piano and the subtle percussion of Nicolas Stocker (last heard on ECM with Nik Bartsch’s Mobile ensemble), continually shade into silence. The California-born Agbabian, who came to international attention with the groups of Tigran Hamasyan, draws deeply upon her Armenian heritage, reinterpreting sacred hymns, a traditional tale, a folk melody transcribed by Komitas and more, and interspersing these elements among her own evocative compositions.

Bloom was recorded in Lugano in October 2016 and produced by Manfred Eicher.

1. Patience
2. Petal One
3. Rain Drops
4. Yearning
5. Petal Two
6. Light Effect
7. Anganim Arachi Ko
8. The Water Bride
9. Mother
10. Garun a
11. The River
12. Anganim Revisited
13. Sear
14. Full Bloom
15. Whiteness
16. Colored
17. Seeing More

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here