A QSF Journey | Reference Recordings RR143

A QSF Journey


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Reference Recordings

Cat No: RR143

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Chamber

Release Date: 12th October 2018



Quartet San Francisco


Quartet San Francisco


Founded in 2001 by violinist and composer Jeremy Cohen, Quartet San Francisco expresses itself in its agility and standout virtuosic playing. These crossover specialists excel in multiple styles, from jazz to tango, pop to funk, blues to bluegrass, gypsy swing to big band and beyond. On this new release they invite you to join in their journey into the chamber music of the 21st century.

The twelve tracks on the album include nine written or arranged by Cohen. Seven are world premieres, and another three are world premieres in string quartet form! These outstanding performances have been captured in natural, uncompromising audiophile sound by Reference Recordings’ own award-winning engineering team: Keith O. Johnson and Sean Royce Martin. A QSF Journey was recorded in May 2018 at Skywalker Sound in Marin County, California.

A QSF Journey is Quartet San Francisco’s first release on the Reference Recordings label. QSF’s last four releases (2013, 2009, 2007 and 2006) garnered three Grammy nominations for Best Classical Crossover; three for Best Engineered Classical (Leslie Ann Jones and Judy Kirchner); and two for Best Instrumental Composition. In 2004 the group won the Argentine Consulate’s International Tango Competition in New York City. We are proud to have them on our label.

For over 40 years, Reference Recordings has been one of the most innovative and respected independent labels in the music business. Reference Recordings releases have been highly praised for their dedication to high quality sound in the service of great music. Founder Tam Henderson (1998 Grammy nominee for Producer of the Year), was joined in 1978 by engineer Keith O. Johnson. Some 140 projects and many Grammy awards and nominations later, RR is still recording what many consider to be the finest-sounding classical, jazz and blues discs in the world.

Quartet San Francisco:
- Jeremy Cohen (violin)
- Joseph Christianson (violin)
- Chad Kaltinger (viola)
- Andrés Vera (cello)

1. Tango Eight (Cohen)
2. Fiesta! (Lipsky)
3. Rango Carnevale (Cohen)
4. Francini (Cohen)
5. Rhapsody in Bluegrass (Gershwin-Rouse, arr. Cohen)
6. La Heroína (Cohen)
7. How Sweet the Sound (Cohen)
8. Federico II (Sollima)
9. Al Colón (Cohen)
10. Jasmine Flower/Beautiful Scenery of Wuxi (trad. Chinese folk songs, arr. Cohen)
11. Toroi Bandi (Mongolian folk song, arr. Cohen)
12. Jambo (trad. African folk song, arr. Cohen)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here