Henryk Szeryng: Complete Philips, Mercury & DG Recordings | Decca 4834194

Henryk Szeryng: Complete Philips, Mercury & DG Recordings


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Decca

Cat No: 4834194

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 44

Release Date: 2nd November 2018



Henryk Szeryng (violin)


Henryk Szeryng (violin)


Henryk Szeryng’s complete Philips, Mercury & Deutsche Grammophon Recordings: a 44-CD limited edition original jacket collection (ordered chronologically by label).

Includes previously unreleased recordings including Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto with LSO/Dorati on Mercury; and Mozart’s Sinfonia concertante K364 with Bruno Giurianna.

Also includes several rarities released for the first time internationally on CD including Beethoven Romance no.2 with Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt/LSO (previously only released in Japan); Sibelius and Prokofiev Concertos; Vivaldi Concertos; Bach Sonatas for Violin and Cembalo; and a Schubert recital with Ingrid Haebler.

Philips & Mercury recording newly remastered at 24-bit from original analogue sources: the Mercury tapes using Plangent Processes and Philips at Abbey Road.

- Paganini’s Third Concerto – a work Szeryng rescued from obscurity, unearthed from the composer’s papers
- The Brahms Violin Concerto recorded for RCA by Decca in 1958
- Bach Sonatas & Partitas on DG, recorded 1967
- Two major Mozart series on Philips, including the complete works for violin and orchestra with the New Philharmonia Orchestra and Alexander Gibson, and all the major violin sonatas with Ingrid Haebler – the later set confirming him as one of the foremost Mozart violinists of all time
- Celebrated in the Baroque and Classical repertoire, Szeryng was as commanding in 20th century repertoire: Berg, Prokofiev, Szymanowski, Wieniawski and Khachaturian and of course works written especially for him by Chavez, Lees, Carillo and Ponce
- Works by Kreisler – recorded at the height of his career
- Previously unreleased recordings including a Tchaikovsky Concerto with LSO/Dorati on Mercury
- Rarities including Beethoven Romance No.2 with Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt/LSO (previously only released in Japan), Sibelius/Prokofiev Concertos, Vivaldi Concertos, Bach Sonatas for Violin and Cembalo and Schubert recital with Ingrid Haebler

“There are not many violinists in the world today who can play through all six of Bach's solo violin sonatas as cleanly and as accurately as this. Henryk Szeryng is a very accomplished violinist indeed. His articulation is precise; every note has its full value; his intonation is perfect; his tempi are all sensible. It is impossible to do other than admire him. The recording itself is excellent.” – Gramophone, 1967

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here