Elton Hayes: He Sings to a Small Guitar - His 64 Finest | Retrospective RTS4320

Elton Hayes: He Sings to a Small Guitar - His 64 Finest


Currently out of stock at the UK suppliers. Available to order, but is likely to take longer than usual to despatch

Label: Retrospective

Cat No: RTS4320

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 5th January 2018



Elton Hayes


Elton Hayes


Accompanying himself on guitar, Elton Hayes was quite at ease singing English folk songs and ballads, modern
ditties or the Edward Lear ‘Nonsense’ songs. His many live performances relied heavily on songs from the
eighteenth and nineteenth centuries for he had a great love of old English music. Over the years, he collected
together hundreds of songs and ballads to which he put his own guitar arrangements. From these he would chose
the appropriate ones to use in a performance, all adapted to his individual style. Elton also composed many of his
own songs. They called him the minstrelsy through the ages. His recording career was relatively short. Between
the years 1950 and 1957 Elton recorded 42 songs and contributed to one album, the soundtrack of Disney’s Robin
. Many fine songs from his repertoire were sadly never put on record.


CD 1:
1. Sweet Music And A Small Guitar – Hello
2. The Smile And The Tear
3. A Spanish Bolero
4. A Whale Of A Tale
5. All Around My Hat
6. Ballad Of The London Mail
7. Black Is The Colour Of My True Love’s Hair
8. Bublitscki
9. Cielito Lindo
10. Early One Morning
11. Foolish Pride
12. Gaily The Troubadour Touched His Guitar
13. Here’s A Toast
14. Home Dearie, Home
15. I Had A Hippopotamus
16. I Pass All My Hours
17. I, Yi, Yi
18. If Ever I Marry, I’ll Marry A Maid
19. Joe The Carrier Lad
20. Just A Wearyin’ For You
21. La Boca De Pepita
22. La Paloma
23. Madrecita
24. Maximillian The Moth
25. Mister And Mississippi
26. My Heart Is Like A Nightingale
27. My Lady Greensleeves
28. My Lodging Is On The Cold Ground
29. My Sweet Wench
30. Oh The Cuckoo She’s A Pretty Bird
31. Pirate Gold
32. Planting Rice
33. Sad Am I Without Thee
34. Sugar, Strawberries And Cream

CD 2:
The Songs Of Edward Lear
1. The Owl And The Pussycat
2. The Broom, The Shovel, The Poker And The Tongs
3. The Duck And The Kangaroo
4. The Table And The Chair
5. The Quangle Wangle’s Hat
6. The Jumblies
7. The Cuckoo Clock
8. The Floral Dance
9. The Flying Dutchman (Ahoy! Ahoy! Ahoy!)
10. The Girl I Left Behind Me
11. The Girl In The Wood
12. The Housewife And The Highwayman
13. The Keeper Of The Eddystone Light
14. The Landlady’s Daughter
15. The London Beau
16. The Mermaid
17. The Miller’s Daughter
18. The Pedlar
19. The Phantom Stagecoach
20. The Seal (The Grey Selchie)
21. The Soldier
22. The Soldier’s Return
23. The Spanish Lady
24. The Spanish Lady’s Love
25. The Spinning Wheel
26. The Vain Dreamer
27. ‘Tis True I Never Was In Love
28. The Wise Man (The Youth Of The Heart)
29. Wand’rin’ Star
30. Whoa Emma
31. A Flea And A Fly In A Flue
32. Sweet Music And A Small Guitar – Goodbye

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here