Christmas Musicke 1400-1800 | Brewhouse BHCD9607

Christmas Musicke 1400-1800


Currently out of stock at the UK suppliers. Available to order, but is likely to take longer than usual to despatch

Label: Brewhouse

Cat No: BHCD9607

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Christmas

Release Date: 3rd November 2014



The Yorks Waits
Deborah Catterall (mezzo-soprano)


The Yorks Waits
Deborah Catterall (mezzo-soprano)


In Renaissance Europe most of the large towns and cities had official musicians. Dating from medieval times up to the beginning of the 19th century these musicians in England were known as Waits. They had numerous duties which varied from town to town. Sometimes they would be playing for civic events throughout the year and special occasions such as welcoming royal visitors. The responsibilities could be quite mundane such as playing their instruments through the town at night, waking the townsfolk on dark winter mornings by playing under their windows.

Several years ago The York Waits revived the band as it would have been in its heyday in 16th-century York. Playing instruments of the time such as English bagpipes, shawms, saggbutt, crumhorns, curtails and hurdy-gurdy the York Waits present a varied programme of typical Christmas music gleaned from Waits' traditions throughout Europe. Some of the material will be familiar being Christmas songs and tunes will still know today. The Waits are joined by singer, Deborah Catterall.

1. Personent hodie
2. O Jesulein süss, o Jesulein mild
3. Angelus ad pastores
4. Von Himmel hoch
5. Resonet in laudibus
6. Thys endere nyghth
7. As I lay on a night
8. Als y lay on Yoolis Night
9. Piva Ferrarese
10. O hac quam mundam
11. El noi de la mare/El desembre congelat/¡Oi Betleem!/Birjina gaztettobat zegoen
12. De matin ai rescoutra lou train
13. Quando nascette ninno
14. Doux pommier/Faisans rejouissance
15. Bergers, j'ai ouy la nouvelle
16. Quelle est cette odeur agreable?/Berger, secoue ton sommeil profond!/Bergers, par les plus doux accords
17. Born is the Babe
18. Thus Angels sung
19. Christmas Cheer/ The Little Barleycorn
20. The St Day Carol/I saw three ships come sailing in/The Sussex Carol/A Yorkshire Wassail
21. The Wexford Carol
22. While shepherds watched
23. The Waits (London)
24. The Waits' Wassail
25. Ding dong merrily on high

Also Available

Old Christmas Return’d
Old Christmas Return’d



Jenkins - This Land of Ours
Jenkins - This Land of Ours



Part - Lamentate (Vinyl LP)
Part - Lamentate (Vinyl LP)



John Williams - The Berlin Concert (Vinyl Edition)
John Williams - The Berlin Concert (Vinyl Edition)


(Deutsche Grammophon)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here