Stefano Battaglia: Pelagos | ECM 5768963

Stefano Battaglia: Pelagos


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM

Cat No: 5768963

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Jazz

Release Date: 15th September 2017



Stefano Battaglia (piano, prepared piano)


Stefano Battaglia (piano, prepared piano)


Stefano Battaglia plays both piano and prepBoldared piano (sometimes simultaneously) in a highly attractive double-album programme that includes his own compositions and spontaneous improvisations as well as two versions of the Arabic traditional song “Lamma Bada Yatathanna”.

The melodic and texturally-inventive pieces, some of almost hypnotic allure, were recorded both in concert and in “closed doors” sessions at the Fazioli Concert Hall in Sacile, Italy, in May 2016, and subsequently arranged into what Battaglia describes as “a wonderful new shape with a completely new dramaturgy” by producer Manfred Eicher.

Track list:

CD 1
1. Destino
2. Pelagos
3. Migralia
4. Lamma Bada Yatathanna
5. Processional
6. Halap
7. Dogon
8. Life

CD 2
1. Lampedusa
2. Hora Mundi
3. Lamma Bada Yatathanna (var.)
4. Exilium
5. Migration Mantra
6. Horgos e Roszke
7. Ufratu
8. Heron
9. Brenner Toccata

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here