Glauco Venier: Miniatures - Music for piano and percussion | ECM 4780266

Glauco Venier: Miniatures - Music for piano and percussion


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM

Cat No: 4780266

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Instrumental

Release Date: 10th June 2016



Glauco Venier (piano, soundsculptures)


Glauco Venier (piano, soundsculptures)


The fifteen ‘miniatures’ of this modestly-titled recording include new music by Italian pianist Glauco Venier as well as adaptations of Gurdjieff, Komitas, Dufay and more. This is Venier’s first solo album for ECM, and as with his exemplary work with Norma Winstone on the acclaimed albums Distances, Stories Yet To Tell, and Dance Without Answer, his disciplined pianism always serves the needs of the pieces. Miniatures is a quiet and thoughtful disc, in which solo piano is augmented by subtle, discreet percussion. In addition to his primary instrument, Glauco plays gongs, cymbals and bells and sonorous sculptures created by artists Harry Bertoja and Giorgio Celiberti, the lightly-struck metals creating an attractive ambience, like wind-chimes in the breeze. Miniatures was recorded at Lugano’s RSI studio and produced by Manfred Eicher.

1. Ritual (Glauco Venier)
2. Tiziano’s Painting (Venier)
3. No.40 (Georges I. Gurdjieff, Thomas de Hartmann)
4. Byzantine Icon (Venier)
5. Serenity (Venier)
6. Abstractio (Venier)
7. Prayer (Venier)
8. Gunam (Alessandra Franco)
9. Madiba (Venier)
10. The Temple – War – Litanies (Venier)
11. Krunk (Komitas Vardapet)
12. Ave Gloriosa Mater Salvatoris (Anonymous C13th)
13. Visible Spirit (Venier)
14. Deep and Far (Venier)
15. Ce jour de l’an (Guillaume Dufay)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here