John Abercrombie Quartet - 39 Steps | ECM 3742710

John Abercrombie Quartet - 39 Steps


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM

Cat No: 3742710

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Jazz

Release Date: 23rd September 2013



John Abercrombie (guitar)
Marc Copland (piano)
Drew Gress (double bass)
Joey Baron (drums)


John Abercrombie (guitar)
Marc Copland (piano)
Drew Gress (double bass)
Joey Baron (drums)


John Abercrombie’s revised quartet provides Marc Copland with his first appearance on ECM. Yet guitarist and pianist are old allies, with an association stretching back forty years. In the early 1970s both were members of Chico Hamilton’s quartet, and at the dawn of fusion both played with pioneering jazz-rock band Dreams. Since the late 1990s they’ve revived their partnership in diverse context and have toured in formations ranging from piano-guitar duo to trio with Kenny Wheeler to the cooperative group Contact with Dave Liebman and Billy Hart. For much of the last decade Abercrombie and Copland have also each had bassist Drew Gress as a regular member of their respective bands so “39 Steps” draws on a network of trusted relationships. Jazz ballads and lyricism predominate on this disc with six tunes from Abercrombie’s pen, two Copland tunes, one collective improvisation, and a creative deconstruction of the old standard “Melancholy Baby”. The album was produced by Manfred Eicher at New York’s Avatar Studio in April 2013.

1. Vertigo
2. LST (Marc Copland)
3. Bacharach
4. Greenstreet
5. As it Stands
6. Spellbound (Copland)
7. Another Ralph's
8. Shadow of a Doubt (Copland, Baron, Gress, Abercrombie)
9. 39 Steps
10. Melancholy Baby (George A Norton, Ernie Bernett)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here