Frere Jacques: Round about Offenbach | ECM 2781135

Frere Jacques: Round about Offenbach


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM

Cat No: 2781135

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Chamber

Release Date: 24th October 2011



Gianluigi Trovesi (clarinet)
Gianni Coscia (accordion)


Gianluigi Trovesi (clarinet)
Gianni Coscia (accordion)


The indefatigable Italian duo, having wrestled with Kurt Weill (“Round About Weill”) and with Milanese composer Fiorenzo Carpi (“In cerca di cibo”), now turns its attention to another spiritual soul-brother, Jacques Offenbach. The French composer of German origin (born in Cologne in 1819) wrote some of the most playful and sparkling music of the 19th century, ingenious music that could be beautiful and highly satirical by turns, always meticulously crafted. Unconcerned whether his work was regarded as high art, unafraid of frivolity, cheerfully parodying Wagner and other cultural icons – how could Offenbach not be a hero for Trovesi and Coscia??

1. Sognando Hélène - Oui ! c'est un rêve
2. Ah ! que les hommes sont bêtes - Mon Dieu, mon Dieu
3. Piff, paff, pouff - La Duchessa nei caraibi
4. Tangoffenbach
5. Ah! vivre deux - L'eccentrico inventore
6. Et moi ? - No, tu no !
7. La voix
8. Parton le barcarole
9. Beguine del fauno
10. Sei Italiano ? - No ! ... Je suis Brésilien
11. La Duchessa della Czarda
12. C'est une chanson d'amour
13. Galop ... trotterellando
14. Le jugement de Paris - Ma ! Non so !
15. Dedicated to Hélène and her little birds
16. Metamorfosi ... Pour séduire
17. Minuetto - Olympia
18. Ouverture - Un Americano a Troia
19. Epilogue

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here