Kuara: Psalms and Folksongs | ECM 2733217

Kuara: Psalms and Folksongs


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM

Cat No: 2733217

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Jazz

Release Date: 18th October 2010



Markku Ounaskari (drums)
Samuli Mikkonen (piano)
Per Jorgensen (trumpet, voice)


Markku Ounaskari (drums)
Samuli Mikkonen (piano)
Per Jorgensen (trumpet, voice)


Finnish percussionist Markku Ounaskari made a strong impression on producer Manfred Eicher during the recording of Sinikka Langeland’s “Starflowers” album and was invited to present his own project, and it is a fascinating one, with source material including Russian psalms and folk songs from displaced Finnish peoples (Karelians, Udmurtians, Vepsäns) – all approached from improvisational perspectives. It feels like a voyage over unfamiliar terrain, or as Markku says, “like a journey through the night”. The disc is an ECM debut for up and coming pianist Samuli Mikkonen, and a welcome return for Norwegian trumpeter-singer Per Jørgensen, familiar from ECM discs with Michael Mantler, Jon Balke and Miki N’Doye.

1. Polychronion (Traditional)
2. Psalm CXXI (Trad.)
3. Tuuin Tuuin (Trad.)
4. Aallot (Markku Ounaskari, Samuli Mikkonen)
5. Introit (Trad.)
6. Pitkä pajo (Trad.)
7. Introit / Changing paths 1 (Mikkonen, Ounaskari)
8. The Gipsy's Stone (Mikkonen, Ounaskari)
9. Pikkumetsä (Mikkonen, Ounaskari)
10. Soldat Keljangúr (Trad.)
11. Mountain of Sorrow (Mikkonen, Ounaskari)
12. Introit / Changing paths 2 (Mikkonen, Ounaskari)
13. Sjuan Mad' (Trad.)
14. Sjuan Gúr (Trad.)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here