Marilyn Mazur - Elixir | ECM 1737320

Marilyn Mazur - Elixir


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM

Cat No: 1737320

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Jazz



Marilyn Mazur (percussion)
Jan Garbarek (saxophones, flute)


Marilyn Mazur (percussion)
Jan Garbarek (saxophones, flute)


An album of solos and intimate duos with, as its starting point, the sound of Marilyn Mazur’s percussion instruments, collected from all over the world – each of them allowed to “speak” with its own voice – either alone or in dialogue with Jan Garbarek’s saxophones. The Danish percussionist spent 14 years on the road with the Jan Garbarek Group, appearing on albums including “I Took Up The Runes”, “Twelve Moons”, “Visible Worlds” and “Rites”, but “Elixir” marks the first time that Mazur has established the parameters for their musical collaboration. In these improvisations she continually triggers new responses from Garbarek: yearning melodies, joyful dances, meditations.

1. Clear
2. Pathway
3. Dunun Song
4. Joy Chant
5. Bell-painting
6. Elixir
7. Orientales
8. Metal Dew
9. Mother Drum
10. Mountain Breath
11. Creature Walk
12. Spirit of Air
13. Spirit of Sun
14. Sheep Dream
15. Talking Wind
16. Totem Dance
17. The Siren in the Well
18. River
19. On the Move
20. Winter Wish
21. Clear Recycle

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here