Largo II: Piano Classics | Celestial Harmonies CH140582

Largo II: Piano Classics


Usually available for despatch within 3-5 working days

Label: Celestial Harmonies

Cat No: CH140582

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Instrumental

Release Date: 14th July 2017



Jeno Jando (piano)
Peter Nagy (piano)
Idil Biret (piano)
Klara Kormendi (piano)


Jeno Jando (piano)
Peter Nagy (piano)
Idil Biret (piano)
Klara Kormendi (piano)


Classical music enthusiasts will be delighted to find impressionist, atmospheric excerpts from Federico Mompou's Impresiones Intimas and Leos Janácek's On the Overgrown Path in the Largo compilations; but even classical music newcomers will be able to hum along to Debussy's Clair de lune and Chopin's Nocturne in B flat minor. Largo I (CH14056) is slightly more impressionist or atmospheric, featuring works by Debussy, Ravel, and Scriabin. Largo II contains some of the beautifully distilled, elegant classicism of Erik Satie, Chopin, and Beethoven.

These compilations were put together by Celestial Harmonies' President, Eckart Rahn, and Sister Marie Therese Levey, RSJ, of Australia. They drew upon a vast repertoire of classical and sacred music recordings, from some of the most talented orchestras, chamber ensembles, and soloists in Europe. The Largo compilations feature the world–class talents of Jenő Jandó, Péter Nagy, and Idil Biret. Several of these groups and soloists are among the most widely recorded artists in the classical music world.


CD 1:
1. Grieg - Arietta, op.12 no.1
2. Brahms - Intermezzo in E flat major, op.117 no.1
3. Liszt - Consolation no.4
4. J.S. Bach - Sarabande from English Suite no.2 in A minor, BWV 807
5. Schubert - Der Müller und der Bach (arr. Liszt)
6. Schumann - Romance, op.28 no.2
7. Granados - Epilogo from Escenas Romanticas
8. Liszt - Au Lac de Wallenstadt from Années de Pèlerinage (Première année-Suisse)
9. J.S. Bach - Arioso from Italian Concerto in F major, BWV 971
10. Chopin - Prelude in B minor, op.28 no.6
11. Liszt - Consolation no.1
12. Beethoven - Szene am Bach: Andante molto from Symphony no. 6 in F major, op.68 (Pastoral)
13. Beethoven - Adagio from Piano Sonata no. 17 in D minor, op.31 no.2 (Tempest)
14. Beethoven - Adagio, ma non troppo from Piano Sonata no.31 in A flat major, op.110
15. Beethoven - Adagio molto e cantabile from Symphony no.9 in D minor, op.125 (Choral)

CD 2:
1. Beethoven - Bagatelle in E flat major, op.126 no.3
2. Chopin - Nocturne in B flat minor, op.9 no.1
3. Brahms - Intermezzo in B flat minor, op.117 no.2
4. Schubert - Andante sostenuto from Piano Sonata in B flat major, D960
5. Chopin - Nocturne in E minor, op.72 no.1
6. Brahms - Intermezzo in B minor, op.119 no.1
7. Scriabin - Second movement from Piano Sonata no.1, op.6
8. Debussy - La Fille au cheveux de lin, no.8 from Préludes, Book 1
9. Satie - Gymnopédie no.1
10. Ravel - La Vallée des cloches from Miroirs
11. Scriabin - Guirlandes, op.73 no.1
12. Rachmaninov - Prelude in G flat major, op.23 no.10
13. Satie - Nocturne no.4
14. Scriabin - Fragilité, op.51 no.1
15. Godowsky - Elégie
16. Satie - Gnossienne no.4
17. Messiaen - Regarde du Pére from Vingt Regards sur l'Enfant Jesus

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here