Tarkovsky Quartet: Nuit blanche | ECM 5729067

Tarkovsky Quartet: Nuit blanche


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: ECM

Cat No: 5729067

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Chamber

Release Date: 7th April 2017



Francois Couturier (piano)
Tarkovsky Quartet


Francois Couturier (piano)
Tarkovsky Quartet


Whether playing improvised chamber music, modern composition or baroque music, the creative originality of the Tarkovsky Quartet shines through – as on their third album, Nuit blanche.

Ingmar Bergman once said of Andrey Tarkovsky, “He moves with such naturalness in the room of dreams,” and the French-German quartet named after the great Russian filmmaker has developed an associative dream-language of its own. For leader and pianist François Couturier the “silence and slowness of Tarkovsky” are closely related to an “ECM aesthetic” further developed on Nuit blanche, produced by Manfred Eicher in Lugano in April 2016.

Here pieces variously composed by François Couturier, or created in the moment by Couturier, cellist Anja Lecher, saxophonist Jean-Marc Larché and accordionist Jean-Louis Matinier, explore the texture of dreams and memory and continue to make oblique reference to Tarkovsky. Couturier’s Dakus, for instance, acknowledges a debt to Toru Takemitsu’s 1987 composition Nostalghia, written in memory of the director. The quartet also incorporates a crepuscular interpretation of Vivaldi’s “Cum dederit delectis suis somnum” from the Nisi Dominus, alluding to a composer Tarkovsky was listening to at the time of Stalker.

Tarkovsky Quartet:
- François Couturier (piano)
- Anja Lechner (violoncello)
- Jean-Marc Larché (soprano saxophone)
- Jean-Louis Matinier (accordion)

1. Reve I
2. Nuit blanche
3. Reve II
4. Soleil sous la pluie
5. Dream III
6. Fantasia
7. Dream IV
8. Urga
9. Daydream
10. Cum dederit delectis suis somnum
11. Nightdream
12. Vertigo
13. Traum V
14. Traum VI
15. Dakus
16. Quant ein congneu a ma pensee
17. Reve étrange…

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here