Monteverdi, Sartorio, Rossi - La Storia di Orfeo | Erato 9029585190

Monteverdi, Sartorio, Rossi - La Storia di Orfeo


Usually available for despatch within 5 working days

Label: Erato

Cat No: 9029585190

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Opera

Release Date: 3rd March 2017



Philippe Jaroussky (countertenor)
Emoke Barath (soprano)
Coro della Radiotelevisione Svizzera
I Barocchisti


Diego Fasolis


Monteverdi, Claudio

L'Orfeo (excerpts)

Rossi, Luigi

Orfeo (excerpts)

Sartorio, Antonio

Orfeo (excerpts)


Philippe Jaroussky (countertenor)
Emoke Barath (soprano)
Coro della Radiotelevisione Svizzera
I Barocchisti


Diego Fasolis


With Philippe Jaroussky’s new album, La Storia di Orfeo, the French countertenor realises a long-held dream: to portray the mythic Orpheus – divine musician who ventures into the underworld to retrieve his beloved wife Eurydice from the clutches of death – in his many guises, an inspiration for the very first opera and beyond.

“This project, which was inspired by three key 17th-century operas, was conceived as a kind of opera in miniature or as a cantata for two solo voices and chorus, and features just two characters: Orpheus and Eurydice,” explains Jaroussky. “The three operas focus on different aspects of the story: Sartorio and Rossi depict the happiness of the young lovers and the scene in which Eurydice is bitten by the snake; Monteverdi, on the other hand, concentrates more on Orpheus’ search for Eurydice in the underworld, and the highpoint of his work is an aria that has remained without parallel in the history of opera: the magical ‘Possente spirto’, which I have the temerity to perform here as a countertenor, for the first time on record.”

He is joined by sublime soprano Emőke Baráth and period-instrument ensemble par excellence I Barocchisti with Diego Fasolis at the helm. A journey to the beginnings of opera, to the Italian Baroque, to the underworld and back.

1. Sartorio:  Sinfonia
2. Sartorio: Cara e amabile catena (Euridice, Orfeo)
3. Monteverdi: Vieni, Imeneo... Lasciate i monti (Coro)
4. Monteverdi: Rosa del Ciel (Orfeo, Euridice)
5. Rossi: Mio ben, teco il tormento (Euridice)
6. Rossi: Che dolcezza è la certezza (Euridice, Orfeo)
7. Rossi: Deh, più lucente (Coro)
8. Monteverdi: Vi ricorda, o boschi ombrosi (Orfeo)
9. Monteverdi: Vieni, Imeneo (Coro)
10. Rossi: M’ami tu?... Se così dunque Amor fà (Euridice, Orfeo)/ Deh, pietà! (Coro)
11. A l’imperio d’Amore (Euridice, Coro)
12. Sartorio: Ahimè, Numi, son morta (Euridice, Orfeo)
13. Rossi: Ah, piangete! (Coro)
14. Lagrime, dove sete? (Orfeo)
15. Sartorio: È morta Euridice (Orfeo)
16. Rossi: Dormite, begl’occhi, dormite (Coro)
17. Sartorio: Orfeo tu dormi? (Euridice)
18. Sartorio: Se desti pietà (Euridice)
19. Sartorio: Risvegliati, sù (Euridice, Orfeo)
20. Monteverdi: Possente spirto (Orfeo)
21. Monteverdi: Pietade oggi e Amore (Coro)
22. Sartorio: Numi, che veggio... Non ti volger (Euridice, Orfeo)
23. Sartorio: Chiuso, ahimè, di Cocito... Rendetemi Euridice (Orfeo)
24. Rossi: Lasciate Averno (Orfeo)
25. Rossi: Amor vero e salda fé (Coro)


This cleverly assembled disc limits itself to the 17th century, and ranges from the Mantuan Orfeo of 1607 through to Antonio Sartorio’s little-known successor of 1672. The presiding genius is countertenor Philippe Jaroussky who sings gloriously… Jaroussky is well matched by Emöke Baráth’s crystal-clear soprano. Sartorio’s post-Cavalli idiom is sweetly melodic; I was much more taken by the strong, eloquent extracts from Luigi Rossi’s Orfeo of 1647.  Nicholas Kenyon
The Observer 26 March 2017

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here