Moondog - Round the World of Sound | New World Records NW80774

Moondog - Round the World of Sound


Currently out of stock at the UK suppliers. Available to order, but is likely to take longer than usual to despatch

Label: New World Records

Cat No: NW80774

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Release Date: 29th April 2016



This twenty-five piece selection is entitled Madrigal Book 1, and is a nod to the system Johann Sebastian Bach used for his Well-Tempered Clavier. Here, Moondog passes through all the major and minor tonalities, following the cycle of fourths.

The album spans twenty years of composing and bohemian life in the very heart of Manhattan, on its streets and under its porches. The record features pieces from the early 1950s (All Is Loneliness, Be a Hobo) as well as later canons written in June 1968. All are autobiographical, or at least reflect the state of mind of their author.

This collection constitutes a marvelous window on Moondog's universe.

"To reduce the music of Louis Thomas Hardin (1916-1999) to the legendary figure of Moondog would be to pass over the real work of the composer. The melodic invention, the prodigious rhythms, and the mixture of genres, as original as they are obvious, all come together to form a music that merits consideration strictly as music."

Dedalus & Muzzix:
- Didier Aschour (guitar, artistic director)
- Christian Pruvost (trumpet and co-director)
- Stéphane Garin (percussion, glockenspiel)
- Peter Orins (drums)
- Vincent Bouchot (voice)
- Nathalie Duong (voice)
- Sakina Abdou (alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, recorder, spinet)
- Julien Favreuille (sopranino saxophone, tenor saxophone, flute)
- Denis Chouillet (piano, toy piano)
- Barbara Dang (spinet, organ)
- Deborah Walker (cello)
- Sébastien Beaumont (classical guitar, electric guitars, banjo)
- Nicolas Mahieux (double bass)
- Maxime Morel (saxhorn, trombone)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here