Duke Ellington - Piano Works | Dynamic CDS7743

Duke Ellington - Piano Works


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Dynamic

Cat No: CDS7743

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Instrumental

Release Date: 1st April 2016



This CD features the most important piano works that Duke Ellington (1899–1974) wrote between 1913 and 1973. While remaining close to the original manuscripts, the performances are fresh and inventive, meeting the challenge of balancing faithfulness to the written score with the interpreter’s own inspiration and creativeness.

The pieces on the programme trace Ellington’s stylistic development in all its variety.

Luigi Palombi brings added value to the recording with his intellectual curiosity and experience in a wide range of musical settings, from chamber to orchestral, with the Jazz Discovery Ensemble.

Track listing:
1. Soda Fountain Rag
2. The Single Petal of a Rose
3. Bird of Paradise
4. Fleurette Africaine
5. Dancers in Love
6. Melancholia
7. Swampy River
8. Reflections in D
9. Black and Tan Fantasy (Ellington, Miley)
10. Lotus Blossom (Strayhorn)
11. The Clothed Woman
12. The Lake
13. Blues
14. Black Beauty
Sacred Concerts Suite:
15. The Lord’s Prayer
16. Meditation
17. New World A-Comin’

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here