On Fire: the Virtuoso Violin | Delos DE3479

On Fire: the Virtuoso Violin


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Delos

Cat No: DE3479

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Chamber

Release Date: 29th January 2016



Piet Koornhof (violin)
Bernarda Vorster (piano)


Piet Koornhof (violin)
Bernarda Vorster (piano)


Distinguished South African violinist Piet Koornhof’s third recording for Delos highlights (in keeping with the title) virtuoso showpieces for his instrument, both wellknown and rare.

In this 2-CD set, Piet tackles some of the most brilliant and technically challenging repertoire for violin ever written. We hear glittering masterpieces by fabled masters of the instrument: Henryk Wienawski, Fritz Kreisler, and Eugene Ÿsaye. On the more rarely performed side, we get highly worthwhile violin treasures by, among others, Glazunov, Kroll, Taneyev, Rota, and Karayev – as well as a particularly fascinating cycle by Eduard Toldrà.

Piet’s jaw-dropping virtuosity and fiery interpretations are sensitively supported by his compatriot, pianist Bernarda Vorster. Together they have crafted a beautifully performed program that will appeal in particular to violinists and fans of the instrument, as well as an awe-inspiring listening experience for the rest of us.

Track listing:
1. Henryk Wieniawski - Polonaise de Concert in D major, op.4
2. Alexander Glazunov - Meditation, op.32
3. William Kroll - Banjo and Fiddle
4. Balys Dvarionas - Pezzo Elegiaco (Elegy)
5. Henryk Wieniawski - Polonaise Brillante in A major, op.21
6. Myroslav Skoryk - Melody from the film The High Mountain Pass
7. Dmitri Kabalevsky - Rondo, op.69
8. Sergei Taneyev - Romance, op.26 no.6
9. Fritz Kreisler - Tambourin Chinois
10. Myroslav Skoryk - Spanish Dance
11. Nino Rota - Improvviso
12. Kara Karayev - Waltz from the ballet The Seven Beauties
13. Henryk Wieniawski - Scherzo Tarantelle, op.16

Eduard Toldrà - The Six Sonnets
1. Sonetí de la Rosada (Sonnet to the Dew)
2. Ave Maria
3. Les Birbadores (The Gleaners)
4. Oració al Maig (Supplication to the Month of May)
5. Dels Quatre Vents (From the Four Winds)
6. La Font (The Spring)
7. Eugene Ÿsaye - Sonata for solo violin no.3, Ballade

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here