Eve Boswell: Pickin’ a Chicken (her 56 finest) | Retrospective RTS4277

Eve Boswell: Pickin’ a Chicken (her 56 finest)


Currently out of stock at the UK suppliers. Available to order, but is likely to take longer than usual to despatch

Label: Retrospective

Cat No: RTS4277

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 6th November 2015



Eve Boswell


Eve Boswell


This Retrospective survey of 56 prime items from her recorded legacy reminds us of the sheer vivacity and charm with which Hungarian-born Eva Keleti (1922-1988), aka 'Eve Boswell', lit up the 50s: the 'Sugar Bush Girl' who sweetened all our lives. She brightened up 50s Britain with a welcome touch of the exotic.

Here was a sparkling cosmopolitan performer, pretty and exuberant, who brought a dash of warmer, more colourful climes to the black-and-white film of those days. After establishing her career in South Africa, Eve came to England as vocalist with the famous Geraldo’s Orchestra (8 titles here, including I Can Dream, Can’t I?).

Her solo career blossomed with a regular string of singles, the most popular of which emanated from Africa: Sugar Bush, Skokiaan and Pickin’ a Chicken (plus 23 others included here).

Disc 2 largely concentrates on her fine LP material, showing off the broad range of her abilities. Her breakthrough 10” LP 'Sugar and Spice' is presented in its entirety, together with 12 tracks from 'Sentimental Eve' and 'Following The Sun Around'.

The whole programme is the finest available presentation of one of the most gifted and vivacious popular singers of her era.

Track Listing:
CD 1
1. Pickin’ A Chicken
2. Blue Star
3. Confidentially
4. Dear Hearts And Gentle People
5. I Can Dream, Can’t I?
6. Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered
7. Beloved, Be Faithful
8. All My Love
9. If
10. I’ll Be Around
11. I’m Yours
12. Sugar Bush
13. Here In My Heart
14. Moon Above Malaya
15. Hi-Lili, Hi-Lo
16. Everything I Have Is Yours
17. I Believe
18. Playing With Fire
19. The Bridge Of Sighs
20. Romany Violin
21. If You Love Me
22. The Little Shoemaker
23. On The Waterfront
24. Skokiaan
25. These Are The Things We’ll Share
26. Ready, Willing And Able
27. Young And Foolish
28. Tika Tika Tok

CD 2 (1956-1958)
1. Les Feuilles Mortes (Autumn Leaves)
2. Cookie
3. You Go To My Head
4. Down By The Sugar Cane
5. As Time Goes By
6. True Love
7. Where In The World Is Billy?
8. Once In A While
9. The Skye Boat Song
10. April In Portugal
11. Saries Marais
12. Someday I’ll Find You
13. Anna
14. Santa Lucia
15. Sentimental Journey
16. Gypsy Moon
17. Amor
18. You’ll Never Know
19. The Mexican Hat Dance
20. I’ll Walk Alone
21. Besame Mucho
22. The Gypsy In My Soul
23. It’s Been A Long, Long Time
24. Come Prima (More Than Ever)
25. Heat Wave
26. La Mer
27. Quizás, Quizás, Quizás
28. Auf Wiederseh’n, My Dear

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here