Armand Amar - Human (OST) | Warner 2564602579

Armand Amar - Human (OST)


Usually available for despatch within 3-5 working days

Label: Warner

Cat No: 2564602579

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Soundtrack

Release Date: 25th September 2015



Human is a film the world needs: the Koyaanisqatsi of our generation. The highly-anticipated follow-up to Yann Arthus-Bertrand’s 'Home' (viewed by more than 600 million people), this new documentary – with its stunning aerial landscapes and images of people from all walks of life – explores the harsh and beautiful truths of Humanity on this planet. It is a hymn to human connections and the fragility of life on Earth as well as a cri de coeur for tolerance and compassion throughout the world, narrated through testimony from poverty-stricken peasants, refugees, death-row inmates and more – by turns thought-provoking, shocking, heart-breaking and inspiring.

Such a powerful subject needs a score that expresses the emotional core of the film. Director and cinematographer Arthus-Bertrand chose long-time collaborator Armand Amar, composer of the 'Home' soundtrack, to voice the vast ideas of Human in the truly universal language of music. The epic, minimalist orchestral strings, exotic percussion and singers and instrumentalists drawn together from diverse ethnic and musical backgrounds are inseparable from the film’s unforgettable images.

Amar says he composed the score as “a global vision, a universe in osmosis with the film…The music I composed for the images of Mongolia in particular summarise the universe I wanted to evoke in this film. Traditional music from around the world fascinate me endlessly, they touch me, they have a direct link with emotion. For Human, my idea was to create a resonance between the interviews and the songs or chants expressing the same emotion. I wanted hearts to open up to this music, I wanted sadness to open up and for nothing to be held back. Human was one of the rare opportunities in my life as a film composer in which I could explore all these different cultures united from afar.”

Track Listing:
1. Mongolia (interpreted by Sarah Nemtanu, Henri Tournier, featuring Gombodorj Byambajargal)
2. Faces (featuring Salar Aghili)
3. Dam in China (interpreted by the children’s choir of the Maitrise des Hauts-de-Seine)
4. Castells
5. Nepal (featuring Asif Ali Khan)
6. Paddy Fields (featuring Asif Ali Khan)
7. The Storm (featuring Sara-Marielle Gaup and Isabel Sörling)
8. Shakuhachi (interpreted by Suizan Lagrost)
9. Ploughing (interpreted by Ibrahim Maalouf, featuring Ravid Kahalani)
10. Toil (interpreted by Gregoire Korniluk, featuring Sara-Marielle Gaup)
11. Immigration (featuring Gulay Hacer Toruk)
12. Haiti
13. Pepe Mujica
14. The Hidden Church (featuring Youssou N’Dour)
15. Childhood (featuring Isabel Sörling)
16. Human Life
17. Forgiveness (interpreted by Sarah Nemtanu)
18. Swimming in China (interpreted by Henri Tournier and Marc-Antoine Perrio)
19. Crowds (featuring Gombodorj Byambajargal)
20. Human I (interpreted by Grégoire Korniluk)
21. Jerusalem (from Vivaldi) (from Vivaldi, featuring Divna)
22. Human II (interpreted by Julien Carton)
23. Ghada’s Dream (featuring Ghada Shbeir)
Total Time: 73:53

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here