Edison Inventions: A Centenary Tribute to Harry Edison (his 33 finest) | Retrospective RTS4271

Edison Inventions: A Centenary Tribute to Harry Edison (his 33 finest)


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Retrospective

Cat No: RTS4271

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Jazz

Release Date: 3rd July 2015



Harry ’Sweets’ Edison (trumpet)
Count Basie Orchestra


Harry ’Sweets’ Edison (trumpet)
Count Basie Orchestra


It was because of his popularity with the girls that Lester Young gave Harry Edison (1915-1999) the nickname “Sweets”. But, as notewriter Digby Fairweather comments, beneath the sweetness lay a jazz conqueror who created his own starry place in the jazz firmament – and his legacy is here on Retrospective’s 'Edison Inventions'.

He may never have achieved the innovative multiplicities of his forefather Thomas, but what he did invent was what every jazz musician aspires to: an unmistakable stylistic signature. And this 2CD centenary collection represents a microcosm of his creative journey, from dashing young trumpet-major to an artist instantly and joyfully recognizable.

From an opening representative quintet of outstanding tracks with the great Count Basie Orchestra, 'Edison Inventions' presents arguably his 25 finest performances from his superlative Quartet and Sextet recordings of 1953-1962, together with three examples of his supreme ability as a muted accompanist, to vocalists Sinatra, Fitzgerald and Cole.

The journey is taken in the company of many of the all-time greats of jazz: Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis, Duke Ellington, Jimmy Forrest, Johnny Hodges, Barney Kessel, Red Norvo, Oscar Peterson, Buddy Rich, Ben Webster and Lester Young – altogether a triumphant addition to Retrospective’s growing roster of great jazz trumpeters.

Track Listing:
CD 1
1. Every Tub
2. Shorty George
3. Rock-A-Bye Basie
4. Easy Does It
5. Tuesday At Ten
6. September In The Rain
7. ’S Wonderful
8. Indiana
9. Pennies From Heaven
10. Louisiana
11. Nice Work If You Can Get It
12. You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me
13. All Sweets
14. Red Boy Blues
15. One O’clock Jump
16. We’ll Be Together Again
17. It’s Only A Paper Moon
18. Hollering At The Watkins
19. Willow, Weep For Me

CD 2 (1956-1962)
1. K.M. Blues
2. Just A Mood
3. Gee Baby, Ain’t I Good To You?
4. Blues For Piney Brown
5. Moonlight In Vermont
6. Blue Skies
7. The Very Thought Of You
8. Fairground
9. Our Love Is Here To Stay
10. Stompy Jones
11. Broadway
12. I’ve Got A Crush On You
13. A Gal In Calico
14. Embraceable You

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here