Pirate’s Passage (OST) | Moviescore Media MMS15016

Pirate’s Passage (OST)

Label: Moviescore Media

Cat No: MMS15016

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Soundtrack

Release Date: 17th July 2015



The latest offering of MovieScore Media is an exciting animated adventure score from the film Pirate’s Passage, produced, co-written and voiced by Donald Sutherland. Based on the novel by William Gilkerson, the story follows mysterious seadog Captain Johnson (Sutherland) who takes up residence at the inn of Kerstin Hawkins (Carrie Anne Moss) and her son, Jim (Gage Munroe). When he offers his candid knowledge on local pirates for a school project, Jim realizes that the Captain didn’t gather his knowledge from books – he was there to witness the events. In the meantime, the duo must also face competition from a modern day pirate, the greedy Mr Moehner (Kim Coates) whose machinations endanger the whole community...

The score features a majestic theme for the Captain’s century-spanning wisdom, darker themes for antagonist Moehner as well as a Celtic jig and a vocal theme representing the setting of Nova Scotia. The authenticity of the key themes and motifs were overseen by Sutherland himself as Andrew recalls his work with the legendary actor: "Donald loves and understands music, especially how to use it in storytelling. Discussions with him began long before there was any animation to see; we talked a lot about what music he listened to growing up and what the maritime sound was. He wanted everything to be as authenticas possible not only for the time period, but also in regards to how a boy would have imagined the world and scored his own adventure."

Canadian composer Andrew Lockington has been writing film music since 1997, his breakout credit was the Walden/New Line blockbuster 'Journey to the Center of Earth' which brought the composer the Award for Breakout Composer of 2008 by the International Film Music Critics Association (IFMCA).

Since then he scored the Tom Hanks produced family fantasy 'City of Ember' (2008), the Golden Globe nominated 'Frankie & Alice' (2010), the sequel to his greatest hit, 'Journey 2: The Mysterious Island' (2012) and the second movie in the Percy Jackson franchise 'Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters' (2013).

Track Listing:
1. Seven Chests
2. Morning, 1952
3. Skull and Cross Swords
4. Aim to Sink Her
5. Is That Your Girlfriend?
6. A Ship in the Storm
7. Captain Johnson
8. Vikings
9. Magic Fire
10. Show Me To Your Room
11. Boat Comes Loose
12. Fast Friends
13. Hiding the Chest
14. We Need to Prepare!
15. Our Secret
16. Surprizal, Mr. Moehner!
17. Are You Going to Die?
18. Searching the Basement
19. Closing Theme
20. Meg's Song

This product has now been deleted. Information is for reference only.

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here