The Berlin Gamba Book: Chorale Variations | Naxos 857339293

The Berlin Gamba Book: Chorale Variations


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Naxos

Cat No: 857339293

Barcode: 0747313339273

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Instrumental

Release Date: 1st June 2015



Dietmar Berger (viola da gamba)


Dietmar Berger (viola da gamba)


This recording presents the chorale variations for solo viola da gamba by an anonymous 17th century master, collected in the so-called Berlin Gamba Book. Only the initials of the arranger – ‘J.R.’ – are known, but this was clearly someone of passion and discernment who transformed hymns into instrumental music which preserves the solemnity and gravitas of the originals.

Dietmar Berger’s recording of the Manchester Gamba Book (857286364) has been widely admired, with a MusicWeb International reviewer in awe of the “timelessness about these characteristically sad, melancholic and reflective pieces that defies time itself”, and the qualities of the release summed up by Gramophone: “This recording is a considerable achievement by any standard. Berger plays cleanly, his warm tone resonantly captured here. His command of divisions and the ornamentation is impressive.”

With this world-première recording of chorale arrangements and Chorale Variations from the Berlin Gamba Book, Berger opens a window into a previously unknown corner of Baroque musicianship, the magical atmosphere and expressiveness in his playing creating an attraction which spreads far beyond the attention of specialists and scholars.

Track Listing:
CD 1

1. Praeludium - Allein Gott in der Hoh sey Ehr
2. Christus der uns selig macht
3. Da Jesus an dem Kreutze stund
4. Der Tag ist so freudenreich
5. Gelobet seyst du Jesu Christ
6. Gott Vater hor auf mein Geschray
7. Herr des Himmels und der Erden
8. Ich dank dir schon
9. Ich weiss das deine Gute
10. Mag ich Ungluck nicht widerstahn
11. Merk auf mein andachtig Flehen
12. O du betrubter Tag
13. O Lamb Gottes unschuldig
14. Sey mein Gluck
15. Straff mich nicht in deinem Grimm
16. Wie selig ist der Mensche doch
17. Zu dir grundguter Gott
18. Lebt jemandt so wie ich

CD 2
1. Ach, weh, weh meiner Sunden
2. Christum wir sollen loben schon
3. Herr straff mich nicht in deinem Zorn
4. Jesu meine Freude
5. Nun ist alle meine Lust
6. Vater unser
7. Wo Gott der Herr nicht bey uns helt
8. Ach was ist doch unser Leben
9. Nun schleft sie schon
10. Seelchen was ist schoneres wohl
11. Wie lang o Gott
12. Herr nur du stiller verschwiegener Bach
13. Herzliebster Jesu
14. O Traurigkeit
15. Lobe den Herren
16. Nun ruhen alle Walder
17. Unser muden Augenlider

Total Playing Time: 01:54:48 

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here