Merle Travis: Sixteen Tons (His 30 Finest 1946-54) | Retrospective RTR4266

Merle Travis: Sixteen Tons (His 30 Finest 1946-54)


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Retrospective

Cat No: RTR4266

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Release Date: 20th April 2015



Merle Travis


Merle Travis


Top Forties country star Merle Travis, singer, songwriter and guitarist extraordinary, has his finest work summed up on one great Retrospective album.

Travis (1917-1983) was quite simply one of most accomplished and versatile figures in the history of country music, rated among the most talented men ever to enter the business. He was a singer and songwriter of major proportions, as well as actor, author and cartoonist. Above all, his distinctive style of guitar playing was a monumental influence.

Numbered among the top ten most successful country artists of the 40s, he was elected to the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1977.

'Sixteen Tons' (the title of Merle’s most famous composition) is a strong addition to Retrospective’s country roster, offering no fewer than 30 examples of Merle Travis’ best work, 20 of them his own songs. Included, naturally, are the two gigantic hits Divorce Me C.O.D. (No.1 for 14 weeks in 1946) and So Round, So Firm, So Fully Packed (No.1 for 14 weeks in 1947), as are all his other Country hits.

There’s plenty of “Travis-style pickin’” to be savoured on such as Merle’s Boogie Woogie, Steel Guitar Rag, and five classic instrumentals (Cannonball Stomp, Walkin’ The Strings). While the majority of tracks are accompanied by his seven- or eight-piece western swing band with trumpet etc, the selection is also notable for including his complete 1947 album of 'Folk Songs From The Hills', sung with just his own terrific guitar for backing (Sixteen Tons, Dark As A Dungeon, Nine Pound Hammer, John Henry).

Track Listing:
1. Sixteen Tons
2. No Vacancy
3. Nine Pound Hammer
4. Cincinnati Lou
5. Dark As A Dungeon
6. What A Shame
7. Over By Number Nine
8. Missouri
9. That’s All
10. Divorce Me C.O.D.
11. John Henry
12. So Round, So Firm, So Fully Packed!
13. I Am A Pilgrim
14. Three Times Seven
15. Muskrat
16. Steel Guitar Rag
17. Merle’s Boogie Woogie
18. Sioux City Sue
19. Crazy Boogie
20. Fat Gal
21. Cannonball Stomp (instrumental)
22. Blues, Stay Away From Me
23. Wildwood Flower (instrumental)
24. Start Even
25. Walkin’ The Strings (instrumental)
26. Lost John Boogie
27. Saturday Night Shuffle (instrumental)
28. Deep South
29. Blue Bell (instrumental)
30. Done Rovin’

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here