Vespers: Timeless Music for Contemplation | Gift of Music CCLCDG1282

Vespers: Timeless Music for Contemplation


Currently out of stock at the UK suppliers. Available to order, but is likely to take longer than usual to despatch

Label: Gift of Music

Cat No: CCLCDG1282

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 2nd March 2015



Vespers is the ancient office of prayer, celebrated every evening throughout Christendom as the sun goes down. Here, in this beautiful and reflective recording, plainsong chants are sung in praise and contemplation and contrast with the magnificent organ works of Dupré and the splendour of choral music by David Bevan, John Sheppard and John Duggan.

Track Listing:
1. Organ Introit: Ave Maris Stella 3 - Marcel Dupré
2. Marian antiphon I: Alma Redemptoris Mater - John Duggan
3. Marian antiphon II: Regina Coeli - John Duggan
4. Opening Responses - Psalms
5. Psalm 113: Laudate pueri Dominum
6. Psalm 117: Laudate Dominum omnes gentes
7. Psalm 146: Lauda anima mea Dominum
8. Psalm 147: 1–11: Laudate Dominum, quoniam bonus est psalmus
9. Psalm 147: 12–20: Lauda Jerusalem Dominum
10. Chapter: In omnibus requiem quesivi
11. Responsory: Super salutem
12. Hymn: O quam glorifica luce
13. Versicle: Exaltata es
14. Magnificat antiphon: Ascendit Christus
15. Magnificat: Sexti toni ŕ 8 - David Bevan
16. Magnificat antiphon: repeat
17. Motet: Ave Maris Stella - John Sheppard
18. Collect and Final Responses
19. Organ processional: Ave Maris Stella 2 - Dupré
20. Marian antiphon III: Ave Regina Coelorum - Duggan
21. Marian antiphon IV: Salve Regina - Duggan
22. Organ voluntary: Ave Maris Stella 4 - Dupré

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here