Nils Petter Molvaer - Switch | Sony 88883747742

Nils Petter Molvaer - Switch


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Sony

Cat No: 88883747742

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Release Date: 7th April 2014



Nils Petter Molvaer (trumpet)
Erland Dahlen
Geir Sundstol
Morten Quenild
Jon Marius Aareskjold


Molvaer, Nils Petter

Intrusion III
Intrusion I
Intrusion VII
Intrusion VI
Quiet Corners
Somewhere Shady
Strange Pillows
The Kit


Nils Petter Molvaer (trumpet)
Erland Dahlen
Geir Sundstol
Morten Quenild
Jon Marius Aareskjold


On the OKeh label, 'Switch' is the new 10 track album by Nils Petter Molvaer, the master of musical landscapes. He discovers the clarity of song-orientated structures and stretches the genre boundaries to new limits once again.

Norwegian trumpeter Nils Petter Molvaer has his own very individual sound, influenced as much by the poetry of Scandinavian nature as by electronic calculation, and last but not least by colleagues like Miles Davis und Jon Hassell. Listening to Molvaer play, it's easy to forget that his instrument is a trumpet. His musical journey takes the listener through a wide variety of styles, and different degrees of abstraction along the way.

'Switch' comes along with great innovations – new band, different approach and original sound. It was recorded in collaboration with Erland Dahlen (drums, metal plate, logdrum, steeldrum, drum machine, Blosson Bells, xylophone, electric guitar, baritone guitar), Geir Sundstøl (pedal steel guitar, six string bass, national resophonic guitar), Morten Quenild (hyper piano, programming and electronics) and Jon Marius Aareskjold (additional programming).

The recording is proving the artist’s ambition of never settling for a specific soundscape. Within this album, Nils Petter Molvaer is bringing the pedal steel guitar as the main novelty of his newest production. The sound of his trumpet blending with the beauty of the steel guitar gives his music a new sound palette.

I have been thinking about using the pedal steel guitar for some years now and, finally, the right time arrived with this new project. This is a change of sound and direction that gives a more melodic line to my sonic universe.” - Nils Petter Molvaer

The title, 'Switch', can be seen as an underlining of the musical change that occurred on this album. At the same time, it gives its listeners the freedom to decide on the meaning of the title themselves. The album contains ten tracks, of which four have recurrent titles: Intrusion I, Intrusion VII, Intrusion VI and Intrusion III. These songs are related sound wise, being structured mostly as a trumpet/steel guitar duo. In addition, they mark the unique and unusual presence of the steel guitar.

Track Listing:
1. Switch
2. The Kit
3. Intrusion I
4. Quiet Corners
5. Strange Pillows
6. Intrusion VII
7. Bathroom
8. Intrusion VI
9. Somewhere Shady
10. Intrusion III

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here