Stravinsky - Les Noces and other choral music | Hyperion - Helios CDH55467

Stravinsky - Les Noces and other choral music


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: Hyperion - Helios

Cat No: CDH55467

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 6th January 2014



Stravinsky’s popular, extroverted choral work Les Noces - the epitome of his ‘Russian’ style - is placed in context in this marvellous recording where James Wood’s New London Chamber Choir are joined by the Voronezh Chamber Choir who bring an authentic Russian sound to the ensemble. They also perform Russian folksongs and the Slavonic versions of Stravinsky’s Ave Maria, Credo and Pater Noster.

Other aspects of Stravinsky’s compositional style are represented by the austere TS Eliot setting The dove descending and the memorial to TS Eliot himself.

Track Listing:
Five Bridal folksongs from the Voronezh district
1. Now, little grey duck
2. Good day, my fair, my nice one
3. Oh, mother, my little head hurts
4. Now, thou little pine tree
5. In my ample chamber

Les Noces ‘Svadebka’
6. The bride’s chamber ‘The tresses’
7. The bridegroom’s house
8. The departure of the bride
9. The wedding feast

Four Russian peasant songs ‘Podblyudnye’ [1914–1917]
10. In our saviour’s parish in Chigisakh beyond the Yauza
11. Ovsen
12. The pike
13. Master Portly

Four Russian peasant songs ‘Podblyudnye’ [1954 version]
14. In our saviour’s parish in Chigisakh beyond the Yauza
15. Ovsen
16. The pike
17. Master Portly

18. Pater noster ‘Slavonic version’
19. Ave Maria ‘Slavonic version’
20. Credo ‘Slavonic version’

Carlo Gesualdo: Tres sacrae cantiones (arr Igor Stravinksy)
21. Da pacem Domine
22. Assumpta est Maria
23. Illumina nos

24. The dove descending breaks the air
25. Introitus: T S Eliot in memoriam

BBC 'Building a Library' First Choice
As magical a musical experience as this imposing score has ever afforded on record. A fascinating programme, prepared and sung to the highest imaginable standards’ - Fanfare, USA

[from CDA66410]

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here