Remember me my deir: Jacobean songs of love and loss | Delphian DCD34129

Remember me my deir: Jacobean songs of love and loss


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Delphian

Cat No: DCD34129

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Release Date: 9th December 2013



Fires of Love


Fires of Love


Scotland’s troubadours, the Fires of Love, follow King James VI on a varied journey through song and instrumental music.

In the 16th century, Scotland appeared outwardly to be musically bruised – not necessarily so … As our musicians deftly weave their way through Scotland’s rich tapestry of historic manuscripts, they unveil attractive, unsophisticated melodies, often heavily imbued with the French style.

On their arrival in London, James and his musicians would have been taken aback by the highly active theatre scene. Shakespeare’s texts give rise to compelling settings, from the plaintive 'And will he not come again', poignantly rendered here by Frances Cooper, to the risqué joviality of St Valentine’s Day.

As the Scots courtier-musicians nimbly traded French influence for London’s ‘Englished’ Italian style, one wonders: did they regretfully look homewards: 'Remember me my deir?'

Based in Scotland, Fires of Love has been performing in venues and festivals around Britain since 1998. The repertoire centres on lute and guitar songs, set amongst instrumental ensembles, solos, recent discoveries and the group’s own arrangements. The music spans the breadth of Europe and instruments include lutes, archlute, theorbo, vihuela, baroque guitar, fourcourse guitar, recorders and percussion.

The group has made two previous recordings for Delphian: 'Love and Reconquest: Music of Renaissance Spain' (DCD34003) and 'Chansons à Plaisir: Music from the time of Adrian Le Roy' (DCD34063), both released to high critical acclaim.

- And will he not come again, Canaries [Straloch MS]
- A Scots Tune (untitled) [Rowallan MS]
- Rest, sweet nymphs [Francis Pilkington]
- St Valentine’s Day, Grein greus ye rasses, a Daunce [Straloch MS]
- Go from my window [Folger Dowland MS]
- Gypsies Lilt [Rowallan MS]
- O sweet Oliver – My bonny lass (‘Sellinger’s Round’)
- In throu the windoes of myn ees (Alexander Montgomerie)
- A Port [Straloch MS]
- Remember me, my deir, The Queen’s Treble [John Johnson]
- When Laura smiles, A Scots Tune (untitled) [Jane Pickeringe MS]
- Adeu, O desie of delyt [Andrew Blackhall]
- How should I your true love know, Bonny sweet Robin, Ane Scottis Dance [Rowallan MS]
- The cypress curtain of the night [Thomas Campion]
- I long for thy virginite [Straloch MS]
- Quhat mightie motione, The Scottish Huntsupe [Jane Pickeringe MS]
- Pavane (Passamezzo) and Gagliarda [Braye MS]
- And will he not come again

Gramophone Editor's Choice

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here