Jolivet - Complete Songs | Brilliant Classics 9220

Jolivet - Complete Songs


Usually available for despatch within 2-3 working days

Label: Brilliant Classics

Cat No: 9220

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 2

Genre: Vocal/Choral

Release Date: 13th June 2011



20th Century French composer André Jolivet was known for his devotion to French culture and this can be clearly seen in his fine mélodies, or French art songs, which combine all the qualities of rich melody and sensitivity to text that are essential requirements for this form.

This is the first complete recording of Jolivet’s edited Mélodies for solo voice and piano. Jolivet’s Mélodies were composed over almost a quarter of a century (1928-1951) and they cover many different styles and moods, from easy songs inspired by folk tunes to more complex and sophisticated works, some intimate and intense, some humorous or sarcastic. The huge variety he displays reflects his diverse inspiration, from medieval and classical forms to the atonal music of Schoenberg and Berg, as well as Debussy, Fauré and particularly his teacher, the iconoclast Edgard Varèse.

Jolivet draws most of his text from French poets through the ages, but some he wrote himself. The Deux poésies de Francis Jammes tell of a heart-breaking love story, where Jolivet transforms intimate sorrow into a bare, chromatic language. By contrast, the lively Chewing Gum sparkles with jazz flavour and La mule de Lord Bolingbroke is also a delightful and bubbly work. Other themes are comments on social issues. His tragic experience as a front-line solider inspired Les Trois complaints du soldat, perhaps Jolivet’s best-known song cycle, featuring early music forms and a simplicity typical of his war-time compositions.

One of Jolivet’s most successful cycles, Jardins d’hiver, follows the changing moods of a love affair from joy and tenderness in the beginning to disillusionment, bitterness and finally acceptance.

As an homage to Jolivet’s muse, the collection is completed with Varèse’s La grand sommeil noir.

CD 1
Deux poésies de Francis Jammes (1928)
1. I. Ne me console pas
2. II. Vous m’avez regardé

3. Chewing-gum (1928)

4. Faux Rayon (1928)

5. Rondel “Au retour de dure prison” (1929)

6. La Mule de Lord Bolingbroke (1930)

7. Prière des treize hommes dans la mine (1931)

Quatre mélodies sur des poesies anciennes (1931)
8. I. Couplet berrichon
9. II. Lay ou plutost rondeau “Mort, j’appelle de ta rigueur”
10. III. Rondel “Tu te brusles à la chandelle”
11. IV. Paroles de Marie à son fils

12. Le Chant des regrets (1935)

Romantiques (1935)
13. I. La Vie est plate
14. II. Marche funèbre
15. III. Voyage imaginaire

16. Jeu du camp fou (1937)

Les Trois Complaintes du soldat (1940)
17. I. La Complainte du soldat vaincu
18. II. La Complainte du pont de Gien
19. III. La Complainte à Dieu

CD 2
Trois Chansons de Ménestrel (1943)
1. I. Chanson du coeur dolent
2. II. Lamento de Jésus-Christ
3. III. Amour me nuit

Poèmes intimes (1944)
4. I. Amour
5. II. Je veux te voir
6. III. Nous baignons dans une eau tranquille
7. IV. Tu dors
8. V. Pour te parler

Trois Poèmes galants (1951)
9. I. Sonnet à une lunaticque
10. II. Épître imprécatoire
11. III. Sonnet à Madeleine repentie

Jardins d’hiver (1951)
12. I. Aube
13. II. La Maison du bonheur
14. III. Combien de bras
15. IV. Quiétude

Edgard Varèse
16. Un grand Sommeil noir (1906)


Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here