Les Escapades du Roi | Christophorus CHR77338

Les Escapades du Roi


Currently out of stock at the UK suppliers. Available to order, but is likely to take longer than usual to despatch

Label: Christophorus

Cat No: CHR77338

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Release Date: 31st January 2011



An invitation to experience music played in the court of Versailles – for Louis XIV and his successors. An imaginary story gives it its framework: A young provincial beauty comes to the court, is presented to the King and becomes his favourite, falls into disgrace through the intrigues of her rivals, but finally retrieves her honour.

In general this CD follows the hypothetical idea of music as the mirror of daily life – and even of the Baroque concept of always looking for a hidden sense beneath the surface of a work of art.

- Charpentier: Overture & Air ‘Que tout cède aux douceurs de mes Accords charmants!’
- Charpentier: Air ‘Amour, viens animer ma voix!’
- Charpentier: Concert pour quatre parties de violes
- Marais: Muzette, Le Moulinet
- Couperin: Sonate La Sultanne
- Forqueray: La Régente
- Lully: Trios de la chambre du Roi
- Forqueray: Suite (Fragment)
- De Visee: Prélude Assez de pleurs & Chaconne
- L Couperin: Chaconne ou Passacaille
- L'Affilard: Air ‘Quel martire’
- L'Affilard: Air ‘Viens avec moi’
- Rossi: Les pleurs d’Orphée
- Monteclair: Air ‘Le Triomfe de la Constance’
- Delalande: Chaconne ‘Les Fontaines de Versailles’

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here