Sir Charles Mackerras: Life with Czech Music (Janacek / Martinu) | Supraphon SU40422

Sir Charles Mackerras: Life with Czech Music (Janacek / Martinu)


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: Supraphon

Cat No: SU40422

Format: CD + DVD

Number of Discs: 5

Release Date: 29th November 2010



Throughout the music world, Sir Charles Mackerras’s name is synonymous with Czech music itself – Leos Janáček in particular.

Sir Charles fatefully encountered Janáček during the very first days of his studies with Václav Talich in Prague. Subsequently, he introduced Janáček to the wider world. “Nobody needs me to say that Mozart and Handel are great composers, whereas they did need somebody to say that Janáček is a great composer too, and that’s what I did. If I have achieved anything in my life, it is the propagation of Janáček.

Supraphon had the truly great honour of cooperating with this superlative conductor until the very end. The albums featuring the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra in particular have captured Mackerras’s vision of a wide scale of works by the four greatest Czech composers. The list of awards these recordings have received is long... Let us then instead spend our time listening to his musical legacy on these CDs, which Supraphon with respect and love for Sir Charles presents to all those who would like to recollect this great man.

CD 1
- Jealousy (original overture to the opera Jenůfa) (live recording)
- The Cunning Little Vixen: Orchestral suite from the opera (live recording)
- Šárka: Overture
- Taras Bulba (live recording)

CD 2
- Káťa Kabanová: Overture, interludes
- Schluck und Jau
- Sinfonietta (live recording)
Bonus: Interview with Sir Charles Mackerras

CD 3
- Glagolitic Mass
- Amarus: Cantata for soloists, mixed chorus and orchestra

CD 4
- Juliette: Orchestral suite from the opera
- Field Mass for male chorus with baritone solo and orchestra
- Double Concerto for two string orchestras, piano and timpani
- Les Fresques de Piero della Francesca

- Glagolitic Mass
- Jealousy (original overture to the opera Jenůfa)
- Taras Bulba

Many of these are benchmark recordings of these works. Includes a memorial booklet about Sir Charles, his life and impact on Czech music.

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here