A’e Gowden Lyric: Songs by Ronald Stevenson | Delphian DCD34006

A’e Gowden Lyric: Songs by Ronald Stevenson


In stock - available for despatch within 1 working day

Label: Delphian

Cat No: DCD34006

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 1

Genre: Vocal/Choral



The lyric Scots poetry of Hugh MacDiarmid, Sorley MacLean, and William Soutar and Robert Louis Stevenson's A Child's Garden of Verses are featured in this premiere recording of songs by Borders composer Ronald Stevenson. Susan Hamilton’s clarion soprano voice is the perfect instrument for this introspective recital, which is, in the words of MacDiarmid, ‘sharp and sweet and breaks the heart’.

Track listing

A Child's Garden of Verses
1. Dedication
2. Bed in Summer
3. The Land of Nod
4. Time to Rise
5. Singing
6. Rain
7. Windy Nights
8. Shadow March
9. My Shadow
10. Fairy Bread
11. The Swing Listen (1MB)
12. Summer Sun
13. From a Railway Carriage
14. Autumn Fires
15. When the golden day is done
16. The Lamplighter
17. Envoy

18. Traighean (Shores)
19. The Robber
20. Hill Sang
21. The Gaelic Muse
22. The Buckie Braes
23. The Quiet Comes In
24. The Bobbin-Winder
25. To the Future
26. O Wha's the Bride
27. Trompe L'Oeil
28. The Bonny Broukit Bairn
29. Fairytales
30. Hallowe'en Sang
31. The Plum Tree
32. The Day is Düne
33. The Rose of All the World
34. The Droll Wee Man
35. A'e Gowden Lyric Listen (1.8MB)

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here