Donald Byrd: Milestones of a Jazz Legend | Documents 600413

Donald Byrd: Milestones of a Jazz Legend


Currently out of stock at the UK suppliers. Available to order, but is likely to take longer than usual to despatch

Label: Documents

Cat No: 600413

Format: CD

Number of Discs: 10

Genre: Jazz

Release Date: 29th September 2017



Donald Byrd (trumpet)


Donald Byrd (trumpet)


The American trumpeter Donald Byrd (1932-2003) was one of the most important representatives of hardbop and, like his colleagues Miles Davis and Freddie Hubbard, succeeded in redirecting his productions towards funk and soul, thereby finding a new audience and conquering the Pop charts.

Byrd came from Detroit and was a revered member of the Motor cityís Jazz scene, where he learned his craft alongside colleagues such as Kenny Burrell, Tommy Flanagan and Pepper Adams, all of whom also moved to New York later on. In 1955 he moved to the Big Apple and almost immediately replaced Clifford Brown, who had recently died under tragic circumstances, in Art Blakeyís Jazz Messengers.

In the following years, he played on albums by almost all of the well-known and important colleagues of the time: from Thelonious Monk to John Coltrane and Sonny Rollins. In addition to leading his own ensembles with Gigi Gryce and old friends from Detroit, he had a quintet with Pepper Adams from 1958-1961 and regularly recorded for Blue Note. Byrd showed his touch for extraordinary talents on piano with collaborations with Duke Pearson and Herbie Hancock, endorsing the latter in the early stages of his career and also being the one to recommend Hancockís collaboration with Miles Davis.


CD 1:
- Lover Come Back To Me
- When Your Love Has Gone
- Sudwest Funk
- Paulís Pal
- Off To The Races
- Down Tempo
- My Girl Shirl
- Soulful Kiddy
- A Portrait Of Jennie
- Cecile

CD 2:
- Jeannine
- Pure D. Funk
- Kimyas
- When Sonny Gets Blue
- Early Morning Blues
- Early Bird
- Elgy
- Stablemates
- Steppiní Out
- Social Call
- An Evening In Casablanca
- Satellite

CD 3:
- Fuego
- Bup A Loup
- Funky Mama
- Low Life
- Lament
- Amen
- Hip Strut
- Minor Apprehension
- Greasy
- Sweet Cakes
- Davis Cup

CD 4:
- The Third
- Contour
- When Your Lover Has Gone
- Dig
- Round Midnight

CD 5:
- Witchcraft
- Here Am I
- Devil Whip
- Bronze Dance
- Clarion Calls
- The Injuns
- Tis (Theme)
- Youíre My Thrill
- The Long Two/Four
- Hastings Street Bounce
- Yourna

CD 6:
- Speculation
- Over The Rainbow
- Nicaís Tempo
- Blue Concept
- Little Niles
- Sans Souci
- I Remember Clifford
- All Morniní Long
- They Canít Take That Away From Me
- Our Delight

CD 7:
- Say Youíre Mine
- Dukeís Mixture
- Each Time I Think Of You
- The Cat Walk
- Cute
- Hello Bright Sunflower
- All Day Long
- Slim Jim
- Say Listen
- A. T.

CD 8:
- The Stanley Stomper
- Cool Aid
- Pairing Off
- Suddenly Itís Spring

CD 9:
- Ghana
- Little Boy Blue
- Gate City
- Lex
- Bo
- My Girl Shirl
- Our Delight
- Our Love Is Here To Stay
- Foster Dulles
- Together We Wail
- Whatís New
- But George

CD 10:
- Hush
- Iím A Fool To Want You
- Jorgieís
- Shangri-La
- 6 Mís
- Requiem
- Pentecostal Feeling
- Night Flower
- Nai Nai
- French Spice
- Free Form

Error on this page? Let us know here

Need more information on this product? Click here